Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar, fcgear and some other addons involved)

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar seems to cause it)

Post by looo »

fcgear (module) is clashing with fcgear from part-design. But I don't know if this is a problem here. Maybe using svg as workbench icons?
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20243
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar seems to cause it)

Post by wmayer »

8 Gui::Application::activateWorkbench Application.cpp 936 0x7fff454671d5
Check the argument of the activateWorkbench. Then we might know more.
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Veteran
Posts: 7896
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: used to be Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar seems to cause it)

Post by DeepSOIC »

Hmm, interesting. I just removed the lock that removed the crash, and got a broken UI but no crash. So these two things are not directly related as I kind of assumed...
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Veteran
Posts: 7896
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: used to be Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar seems to cause it)

Post by DeepSOIC »

Now I restored my old cfg files, and I have the crash back.
wmayer wrote:
8 Gui::Application::activateWorkbench Application.cpp 936 0x7fff454671d5
Check the argument of the activateWorkbench. Then we might know more.

Code: Select all

		
	Locals		
		lock	<not in scope>	Base::PyGILStateLocker
		name	0x3a0f96e110 "PartWorkbench"	char *
		ok	false	bool
		oldWb	0x2395123b730	Gui::Workbench *
		pcOldWorkbench	0x0	_object *
		pcWorkbench	<not in scope>	_object *
		this	0x3a0f96dc20	Gui::Application *
		wc	class Gui::WaitCursor	Gui::WaitCursor
	Inspector		
	Expressions		
	returned value		
	Tooltip		
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Veteran
Posts: 7896
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: used to be Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar seems to cause it)

Post by DeepSOIC »

My config files, which had never been deleted since my first install of FreeCAD, it was FC v0.14.
Attachments
deepsoic config.zip
(9.39 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Veteran
Posts: 7896
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: used to be Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar seems to cause it)

Post by DeepSOIC »

Strangeness continues. Now I removed fcgear and the crash is gone. :shock: :?
It feels like everything is involved in this crash somehow:
* fcgear
* tabbar (todo: check)
* other add-on modules, not clear which exactly (todo:check) assembly2, or freecad-nurbs
* my 3-year-old freecad config files
* debug build
* luck?
Is it worth spending more effort on this? I don't think so. I just disable fcgear for now. It removes the crash and the faulty behavior of UI, and I'm not using it so far anyway...
User avatar
DeepSOIC
Veteran
Posts: 7896
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:45 am
Location: used to be Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar seems to cause it)

Post by DeepSOIC »

triplus wrote:Can you test if the crash occurs when using official Windows daily build?
Tested. Works fine with all modules in. No crash, no broken UI.

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10647 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7901cf7ad28952173ec8e2a55c39e8eb5c441e3c
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.0.0
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Debug build of FreeCAD crashes on startup (TabBar seems to cause it)

Post by triplus »

DeepSOIC wrote:
triplus wrote:Can you test if the crash occurs when using official Windows daily build?
Tested. Works fine with all modules in. No crash, no broken UI.
Yes. And if my assumption was correct it should also work normally with the debug build. Maybe @sgrogan could provide debug build and you could do a test. If everything would work normally you likely just borked your build a bit. And the crash is only a symptom of that. Debugging the crash would therefore likely be a waste of time. With a bit of luck a new clean (debug) build on your side should do it.
Post Reply