FreeCAD & Lisp

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
radiohaktive

FreeCAD & Lisp

Post by radiohaktive »

I am looking to transfer my lisp routines to FreeCAD, how easy or hard is this? I am new to Python but am actively learning.
danielfalck

Re: FreeCAD & Lisp

Post by danielfalck »

Python is a very user friendly language. If you learn FreeCAD and it's python bindings, and you have a good grasp on what you want to do with the geometry in your application, you will enjoy it. I think the python bindings in FreeCAD are more powerful than autolisp routines in Autocad/Bricscad because of their connection to the geometry, application, and gui.
radiohaktive

Post by radiohaktive »

I'm concerned about macros, tho. It's true that Python doesn't support macros? Most of my Lisp routines are used to automate tasks, and I want to make sure Python can handle this.
jriegel
Founder

Post by jriegel »

What do you mean with "macro"?
Stop whining - start coding!
radiohaktive

Post by radiohaktive »

Not CAD macros but code macros like for true and false statements, automation etc. It looks like Python is the way to go though, I should learn it.
jriegel
Founder

Post by jriegel »

Oh, I forgot that Lisp is a ancient programming language (1958). You meant a kind of preprocessor!

No modern language has such a thing or need it. In python you do it with functions...
radiohaktive

Post by radiohaktive »

Cool thanks.
drayko

Post by drayko »