Add faces problem for internal profiles

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
gdo35
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:25 pm

Add faces problem for internal profiles

Post by gdo35 »

Hello,

I have problems to generate internal profiles.
When I select the four faces and click on add button, faces are not added to the profile operation and the following error is displayed :

Code: Select all

Can't find Origin for "Part"
Can't find Origin for "Part"
Can't find Origin for "Body"
Can't find Origin for "Body"
CommandManager::addTo() try to add an unknown command (Path_ToolLibraryEdit) to a widget!
Cannot find icon: Path-Remote
Path workbench activated
Profiling Select Mode
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/gdo/Developpement/Informatique/Personnel/FreeCAD/Mod/Path/PathScripts/PathProfile.py", line 493, in accept
    self.getFields()
  File "/home/gdo/Developpement/Informatique/Personnel/FreeCAD/Mod/Path/PathScripts/PathProfile.py", line 537, in getFields
    self.obj.Proxy.execute(self.obj)
  File "/home/gdo/Developpement/Informatique/Personnel/FreeCAD/Mod/Path/PathScripts/PathProfile.py", line 324, in execute
    output += self._buildPathOCC(obj, wire)
  File "/home/gdo/Developpement/Informatique/Personnel/FreeCAD/Mod/Path/PathScripts/PathProfile.py", line 188, in _buildPathOCC
    self.vertFeed, self.horizFeed, PlungeAngle=obj.PlungeAngle.Value)
  File "/home/gdo/Developpement/Informatique/Personnel/FreeCAD/Mod/Path/PathScripts/PathUtils.py", line 415, in MakePath
    offset = SortPath(wire, Side, radius, clockwise, firstedge, SegLen=SegLen)
  File "/home/gdo/Developpement/Informatique/Personnel/FreeCAD/Mod/Path/PathScripts/PathUtils.py", line 398, in SortPath
    offset = newwire.makeOffset(radius)  # tool is outside line
<class 'Part.OCCError'>: No planar wire
I made a video to show the problem :
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-pDm ... lVfNFBIREU

In attachments, you will find the freecad file used in this video.

My FreeCAD version :

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu Yakkety Yak (development branch)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.8448 (Git)
Build type: Debug
Branch: master
Hash: 15c368d982903ec03206335fa0d15d0f70f7fc5c
Python version: 2.7.12+
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Thx,
gdo
Attachments
test.fcstd
(11.81 KiB) Downloaded 33 times
gdo35
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:25 pm

Re: Add faces problem for internal profiles

Post by gdo35 »

Hi,

If I use libarea instead of OCC Native, the bug does not seem to happen... (as I am not on the same computer, I'll have to confirm this)
But is it "good" to use libarea instead of OCC Native ?

gdo
Linden
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 10:35 pm
Location: Canada/Philippines

Re: Add faces problem for internal profiles

Post by Linden »

Just saw your post now. I don t know much about the programming side of freecad but I have found lib aria seems to give more consistent results and better cut paths.
Linden
gdo35
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:25 pm

Re: Add faces problem for internal profiles

Post by gdo35 »

Hi Linden,

Thanks, I only use libarea now.
g-code seems ok even I did not test it on my CNC.

gdo
Post Reply