Getting started with Path in v0.17

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
herbk
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:45 pm
Location: Windsbach, Bavarya (Germany)

Re: Getting started with Path in v0.17

Postby herbk » Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:49 am

jcf wrote:To me it seems as if it had to do with something deep inside FreeCAD that has changed, as the error statements include mentions of edges, lines, curves ...
Even if I try to get a contour path for a simple box, it doesn't work.


Which version do you use?

Here

OS: "openSUSE Leap 42.2"
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.9940 (Git) (Packman)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1afa150585c7137447e490c8ca5e94ea1258a1ba
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.9.1.oce-0.18-dev

i got a countour path, also if i use a file which is made with FreeCAD 0.16 (but also checked only a few simple parts)
Gruß Herbert
jcf
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:34 am

Re: Getting started with Path in v0.17

Postby jcf » Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:25 am

Sorry, I did not mention the version.
Could not, as I was sitting in another room with my students writing a test, and my machine far away. While posting this, the situation is the same.
I'll try to make some progress documenting my problems ;)
--
The good news however is that I tried at home, and there it was working!
The version is

Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.9945 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 709d2f325db0490016807b8fa6f49d1c867b6bd8
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

but maybe the Path is a little bit older.
I have a copy of an older Path module in my home.../.FreeCAd folder.

Why?
Because sometimes when I upgraded, the Path scripts were gone.
jcf
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 10:34 am

Re: Getting started with Path in v0.17

Postby jcf » Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:38 pm

I am at the other computer now (where I have problems) and just verified the version
it is:
OS: Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.9747 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: f5c0f579cbd7ce668727f8835946e4e9abc0eec6
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

and the error message when I try to load the Path module is

Code: Select all

cannot import name PathPreferencesPathDressup


On this computer I have no Path module in my ~/.FreeCAD/Mod folder, so the original module from /usr/lib/freecad_daily/Mod should be loaded.

I suppose that all these problems come from inconsistencies between FreeCAD itself and the Path modules written in Python.
I remember that sometimes after upgrading my freecad-daily the Path module in the home folder was empty.

That was the main reason for trying to write my own macros for the Path, based on what I have from earlier installations.

I have told that at home, on the other computer, everything is still OK.
The reason is probably that there I am using my own copy of Path (an earlyer one) in the ~/.FreeCAD/Mod folder.
sliptonic
Posts: 597
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Getting started with Path in v0.17

Postby sliptonic » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:17 pm

jcf wrote:I am at the other computer now (where I have problems) and just verified the version
it is:
OS: Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.9747 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: f5c0f579cbd7ce668727f8835946e4e9abc0eec6
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

and the error message when I try to load the Path module is

Code: Select all

cannot import name PathPreferencesPathDressup




I recognize that error and it was corrected a couple weeks ago. You need to re-pull and build or get a fresher daily build.