Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Here's the place for discussion related to CAM/CNC and the development of the Path module.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dlhenke
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:47 pm

Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by dlhenke »

I have to patch my source in order to get linux_cnc post working ..

Line 137 of src/Mod/Path/PathScripts/linuxcnc_post.py

if pathobj.MachineUnits == "Metric":
UNITS = "G21"
UNIT_FORMAT = 'mm/s'
else:
UNITS = "G20"
UNIT_FORMAT = 'in/min'

Now is working ..
thanks a lot
vk3uao
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:40 am
Location: Australia

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by vk3uao »

Thankyou
dlhenke
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by dlhenke »

Sorry i did a mistake..
the solution is in the line 64 of linuxcnc_post.py
change it to
UNIT_FORMAT = 'mm/s'
because pathobject is not working
dlhenke
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by dlhenke »

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 4, in <module>
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: 'FeaturePython' object has no attribute 'MachineName'
gdo35
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:25 pm

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by gdo35 »

Got the same problem, thank you for pointing this.

I correct it and propose a pull request on github.
gdo35
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:25 pm

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by gdo35 »

dlhenke
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by dlhenke »

gdo35 wrote:Done : Pull resquest #658
Ok thank you but i think that the problem is not there, something is wrong with path object because it does not have the objects :-)

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 4, in <module>
<type 'exceptions.RuntimeError'>: 'FeaturePython' object has no attribute 'MachineName'

;)
gdo35
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:25 pm

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by gdo35 »

It solves the problem for me.

Which version do you have ?
(Help->About FreeCAD, click on the "Copy to clipboard" button and paste here.)
dlhenke
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:47 pm

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by dlhenke »

gdo35 wrote:It solves the problem for me.

Which version do you have ?
(Help->About FreeCAD, click on the "Copy to clipboard" button and paste here.)
OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10656 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7741f74ae6f824776ab5620cc6da6e206815f298
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0

Also the same problem on My Elementary Linux ( Loki )
gdo35
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:25 pm

Re: Solving problems with linux_cnc post with wrong feed rate

Post by gdo35 »

And did you use an old .fcstd file ?

Could you share it ?

I cant reproduce. :(
Post Reply