add new function to fem module

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.

Moderator: bernd

Post Reply
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by bernd »

Jee-Bee wrote:I have searched for eigenmode for checking where it could be used more and what do i need change to get my addition work...
I hope that i don't need to change the FemResultObject.cpp... I don't have experience with c++
Since the recent changes the result properties are added in python. See for example git commit 9091c475d5a894cc42e4867b2b35f8c29bb087f2
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

Oke that means i have to rebase i guess.
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by bernd »

Jee-Bee wrote:Oke that means i have to rebase i guess.
you should, and for sure you will have some trouble to rebase, since there was some heavy refactor changes in FEM lately. I tried to make the changes in many small steps (commits). If you have problems just ask here.
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

bernd wrote:

Code: Select all

# fetch official FreeCAD from github
git fetch upstream

# checkout the  bucklebranch
git checkout bucklebranch

git status  # to check on which branch you are
git log -1 --oneline  # last commit off buckle branch

# rebasing, put all your buckle commits on HEAD of upstream/master
git rebase upstream/master
I follow this for rebasing... Now i got an message about merge conflicts...

Code: Select all

jee-bee@Picasso:~/FCdev/FreeCAD$ git rebase upstream/master
First, rewinding head to replay your work on top of it...
Applying: Add buckling functionality no gui for ccx solver
Using index info to reconstruct a base tree...
M	src/Mod/Fem/FemInputWriterCcx.py
M	src/Mod/Fem/FemToolsCcx.py
.git/rebase-apply/patch:63: trailing whitespace.
    
.git/rebase-apply/patch:115: trailing whitespace.
        
warning: 2 lines add whitespace errors.
Falling back to patching base and 3-way merge...
Auto-merging src/Mod/Fem/FemToolsCcx.py
Auto-merging src/Mod/Fem/FemInputWriterCcx.py
CONFLICT (content): Merge conflict in src/Mod/Fem/FemInputWriterCcx.py
error: Failed to merge in the changes.
Patch failed at 0001 Add buckling functionality no gui for ccx solver
The copy of the patch that failed is found in: .git/rebase-apply/patch

When you have resolved this problem, run "git rebase --continue".
If you prefer to skip this patch, run "git rebase --skip" instead.
To check out the original branch and stop rebasing, run "git rebase --abort".
Since as far as i can see i don have these white spaces... can i use the git rebase --continue??
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

I create a duplicate for my bucklebranch because i have difficulties with the rebase stuff.

Code: Select all

jee-bee@Picasso:~/FCdev/FreeCAD$ git status
On branch buckletest
Your branch and 'origin/buckletest' have diverged,
and have 307 and 4 different commits each, respectively.
  (use "git pull" to merge the remote branch into yours)
nothing to commit, working directory clean
jee-bee@Picasso:~/FCdev/FreeCAD$ git pull
Auto-merging src/Mod/Fem/importCcxDatResults.py
CONFLICT (content): Merge conflict in src/Mod/Fem/importCcxDatResults.py
Auto-merging src/Mod/Fem/FemInputWriterCcx.py
CONFLICT (content): Merge conflict in src/Mod/Fem/FemInputWriterCcx.py
Automatic merge failed; fix conflicts and then commit the result.
I hate the rebasing... but i'm happy i create a duplicate... :x
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

somehow it fixed... now compiling
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

Oke i see there is a lot changed in FemInputWriterCcx.py.
what is the best method to fix my branch see
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... cx.py#L112 (FreeCAD)
and
https://github.com/Jee-Bee/FreeCAD/blob ... cx.py#L113(my branch)
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by bernd »

Jee-Bee wrote:Oke i see there is a lot changed in FemInputWriterCcx.py.
what is the best method to fix my branch see
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... cx.py#L112 (FreeCAD)
and
https://github.com/Jee-Bee/FreeCAD/blob ... cx.py#L113(my branch)
Yeah some bigger changes have taken place. But this part was definitely not well organized. It seams you need to recode this part of your changes.

BTW: another bigger change in FEM has taken place. But mainly moving around files, not really changes. We gone make FEM suit for the future :mrgreen:

Bernd
Jee-Bee
Veteran
Posts: 2566
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by Jee-Bee »

bernd wrote:BTW: another bigger change in FEM has taken place. But mainly moving around files, not really changes. We gone make FEM suit for the future :mrgreen:
I noticed some renaming allready... Good to hear even if more difficult for me :?
User avatar
bernd
Veteran
Posts: 12851
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: add new function to fem module

Post by bernd »

best is to use my developmentbranch which will be merged into master soon for rebasing.

https://github.com/berndhahnebach/FreeC ... its/femdev
Post Reply