Test request

Discussion about the development of the Assembly workbench.
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3673
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Test request

Postby quick61 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:45 am

The latest git pulls from the FreeCAD Assembly branch have the Assembly Workbench working a bit differently, or is it just me?

After the fresh compile I ran through the Piston/Pin/Conrod assembly from the Unofficial tutorial blog and the first thing I noticed that if I locked the piston (Fix a part in its rotation and translation) the pin or any other part would not move. Removing that constraint and everything went VERY smoothly. Fast, full range of options on the constraints. From this first look, it's improved.

Are there any particular areas that need a good going over? What, if anything is new?

Mark

OS: Ubuntu 13.10
Platform: 64-bit
Version: 0.14.3178 (Git)
Branch: assembly
Hash: 05523d5e241bc671dc6189ab2feae69c1f2e9a37
Python version: 2.7.5+
Qt version: 4.8.4
Coin version: 4.0.0a
SoQt version: 1.5.0
OCC version: 6.6.0
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 12080
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Test request

Postby NormandC » Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:59 am

Hello Mark,

quick61 wrote:The latest git pulls from the FreeCAD Assembly branch have the Assembly Workbench working a bit differently, or is it just me?

If I am to believe the commit history, ickby's GitHub repo has not been updated since last August. https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_constr ... its/master
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3673
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Test request

Postby quick61 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 5:33 am

normandc wrote:Hello Mark,

quick61 wrote:The latest git pulls from the FreeCAD Assembly branch have the Assembly Workbench working a bit differently, or is it just me?

If I am to believe the commit history, ickby's GitHub repo has not been updated since last August. https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_constr ... its/master


That's what I am seeing too, but when I did a git pull today, I got a bunch of new updates. Twice today in fact, though the second one was just a few files. I haven't changed my local directory sense I first cloned it, so....

I usually just cd into my FreeCAD_constraints directory a few times a week and do a quick git pull without bothering to look at the site. Usually do that when there is nothing new in master, kind of like fishing... Today, I caught something. :shock:

I know it's new stuff because not only has the action improved / changed, the GUI has new icons on the Part Design Workbench and the Constraints GUI in the combo view is changed - improved as well. Maybe more new stuff in Draft?

git branch shows the same thing it always has.

Code: Select all

mark@Spyderbreath:~/Build/FreeCAD_constraint$ git branch
* assembly
  master


Mark
Last edited by quick61 on Mon Dec 23, 2013 5:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
jmaustpc
Posts: 8075
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Test request

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Dec 23, 2013 5:37 am

Hi Norm
I think that's because you are looking at his Master branch ...not his assembly branch. His assembly branch had an update 10 hours ago.

https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_constr ... e/assembly

Jim
jmaustpc
Posts: 8075
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Test request

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Dec 23, 2013 5:44 am

The last commit says
make nonrigid subbassemblys work when they hold subassemblys themself

which sounds like it would be related to what you are asking about, Mark.

https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_constr ... 9c1f2e9a37

Jim
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3673
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: Test request

Postby quick61 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 5:48 am

jmaustpc wrote:The last commit says
make nonrigid subbassemblys work when they hold subassemblys themself

which sounds like it would be related to what you are asking about, Mark.

https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_constr ... 9c1f2e9a37

Jim


Yes, I just found that right before I got back here and read your post.

Have you been checking out this assembly branch at all? When this works it's way into master, it's going to be sweet! :mrgreen:

Mark
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
jmaustpc
Posts: 8075
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Test request

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:02 am

quick61 wrote:
jmaustpc wrote:The last commit says
make nonrigid subbassemblys work when they hold subassemblys themself

which sounds like it would be related to what you are asking about, Mark.

https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_constr ... 9c1f2e9a37

Jim


Yes, I just found that right before I got back here and read your post.

Have you been checking out this assembly branch at all? When this works it's way into master, it's going to be sweet! :mrgreen:

Mark



Actually Mark if you look through some of those updates....it looks like a lot of master has been pulled into Assembly!

Almost but not quite as exciting as the other way around, I agree! :-)

I have just now pulled the updates and I am compiling.

Jim
ickby
Posts: 2428
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Test request

Postby ickby » Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:09 am

Hello.

You guys are really fast :) actually there are many changes: I tried to fix all reported issues. That means the GUI is more consistent now and the solver itself should be way my more stable. I also fixed a considerable number of crashes.

However, as many things changed everything needs to be tested again, and I already found a few things that regressed. For example I can't work with kawahoos fils at all.and apperwntly the fix constrained works not as expected :) I did also not check if my code runs under windows yet. I will work on this further today, hope to announce a second testing round the next days. Stay tuned!
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 12080
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Test request

Postby NormandC » Mon Dec 23, 2013 7:08 am

jmaustpc wrote:Hi Norm
I think that's because you are looking at his Master branch ...not his assembly branch. His assembly branch had an update 10 hours ago.

https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_constr ... e/assembly

Jim

I can't make sense of that damn GitHub interface. I'd swear there was no "assembly" branch in the drop down menu hours ago. :roll:
jmaustpc
Posts: 8075
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Test request

Postby jmaustpc » Mon Dec 23, 2013 8:37 am

normandc wrote:
jmaustpc wrote:Hi Norm
I think that's because you are looking at his Master branch ...not his assembly branch. His assembly branch had an update 10 hours ago.

https://github.com/ickby/FreeCAD_constr ... e/assembly

Jim

I can't make sense of that damn GitHub interface. I'd swear there was no "assembly" branch in the drop down menu hours ago. :roll:


Hi Norm, its quite possible that it wasn't there when you looked. I knew he was developing in a different branch, not master. But to be honest I thought it was called something else. Ickby could have deleted some branches and created a new one...or just deleted no longer required branches.

Its interesting to see how complicated all the git pulling gets. If you want to see with a application, easier than command line stuff, try "git cola" and "git gui" . If you install "git cola", then go to the top directory of a git repo, and type "git cola" in the command line, then you can look at the git repo in a gui application.

Go to the tools menu and select "DAG" and you will get a graphical representation of the git repo. You can then click on any node in the graph and it shows you the commit and all its details. It looks like this (this is scaled down 50%)

gitcoladag.jpeg
gitcoladag.jpeg (12.3 KiB) Viewed 891 times


This picture is just the beginning, the history gets more complicated as you go down. :)

Jim