Woodworking - getDimensions

Need help, or want to share a macro? Post here!
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:32 am

dprojects wrote:
Kunda1 wrote:We can ask some people who have commit access to that.

That would be nice.

I've just opened ticket about direct printing here http://freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=2957 (maybe someone notice that).

hey man, please specify better details so devs fully understand what you are trying to achieve.

Explain what you do as a workaround in a step by step fashion will help paint a picture and importance of such a feature.
jaisejames
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby jaisejames » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:52 am

dprojects wrote:
jaisejames wrote:Nice One. Can you add cube array aslo?


I created this macro long time ago (I guess 1 year ago) but shared it now. I made several bookcases using this macro only with cubes. I found cubes the easiest way to design bookcases in FreeCAD. What do you mean exactly by cube arrays? How it will be useful in bookcase woodworking design? Any examples? You can group cubes in folders and this should work.

The biggest problem I see is that FreeCAD not allow for spreadsheet direct printing. This is kinda annoying because you have to deal with it a little bit manually in LibreOffice. Maybe someone write to FreeCAD to add spreadsheet direct printing?


Like attached file. I do array for multiple items with equal distance.
Attachments
cube array.FCStd
(6.95 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
dprojects
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:02 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby dprojects » Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:52 pm

Kunda1 wrote:hey man, please specify better details so devs fully understand what you are trying to achieve. Explain what you do as a workaround in a step by step fashion will help paint a picture and importance of such a feature.


Feel free to add whatever you like to it.

jaisejames wrote:Like attached file. I do array for multiple items with equal distance.


I will look into it next week or this weekend maybe and I will try to figure out what do you mean and what to do to make you happy and not brake the main functionality of the macro. Also I have to look into this code because I created this year ago and I have to recall what is going on in the code :-)

EDIT: I added a little code and looks like it is working for your example too. Would you like to send me more examples you usually use to be sure all your examples will be covered? However, I am still not sure how to recognize correctly the array type, because now it is "Part::FeaturePython", looks like arrays are still under construction in FreeCAD.
FreeCAD macro to get chipboards dimensions to cut : https://github.com/dprojects/getDimensions
jaisejames
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby jaisejames » Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:18 am

Thank you. If array is also support, It will helpful for me.
dprojects
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:02 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby dprojects » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:57 pm

jaisejames wrote:Thank you. If array is also support, It will helpful for me.

I've already added support for arrays and also added comments in code and corrected README file. Let me know if it works for you as well.
https://github.com/dprojects/getDimensions

Any comments and issues are welcome.
FreeCAD macro to get chipboards dimensions to cut : https://github.com/dprojects/getDimensions
jaisejames
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby jaisejames » Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:13 pm

Thank you for your help.

I modified your first macro posted & created like yours. But array quantity x y z need to multiply then minus two than adding. Say 4 x 4 x 4 -2 to work correctly.

Thank you for very much. :)
dprojects
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:02 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby dprojects » Sat Mar 11, 2017 5:54 pm

jaisejames wrote:But array quantity x y z need to multiply

Thanks for the issue. My fault. I created more advanced arrays and looks like "Number Polar: The number of copies" is useless during counting number of elements.

New version is available: https://github.com/dprojects/getDimensions
Let me know if all your examples work fine with it or not. Thanks.

EDIT: I guess, finally I got it to work. The NumberPolar comes into play when you have polar array type and other values are important when you have ortho type. Now should be fine for both types. Hope so :-)
FreeCAD macro to get chipboards dimensions to cut : https://github.com/dprojects/getDimensions
jaisejames
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby jaisejames » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:07 am

It was really helpful.

Now I want to add external size. Say external length, width, height. Is there any way to get than calculating ?
dprojects
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:02 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby dprojects » Sun Mar 12, 2017 2:07 pm

jaisejames wrote:external length, width, height. Is there any way to get than calculating ?

What do you mean by external? How it should look like? Any examples?
This new version works for your array examples?
FreeCAD macro to get chipboards dimensions to cut : https://github.com/dprojects/getDimensions
jaisejames
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:51 am

Re: Woodworking - getDimensions

Postby jaisejames » Sun Mar 12, 2017 3:03 pm

Say cupboard external size 2 x 1.2 x 2ht meter. Final assembled size.