Disappearing Arch Wall Structure - Bug?

A forum dedicated to the Arch module development
paullee
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Disappearing Arch Wall Structure - Bug?

Postby paullee » Sun Mar 12, 2017 5:37 pm

Hi there,

I am testing my workflow to build model and find there may be some bug.

I try create some random arch wall and arch structure. After Arch-Adding an Arch-Structure to a ArchWall (group) [which failed somehow as described in separate post], further ArchWall created just simply disappear and never show up!?

Thanks.

p.s. 'Structure' is a sketch on a face of Wall, then created by ArchStructure.

Screenshot from 2017-03-13 01-16-50.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-13 01-16-50.png (190.32 KiB) Viewed 214 times


Screenshot from 2017-03-13 01-17-31.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-13 01-17-31.png (171.68 KiB) Viewed 214 times


OS: Linux
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10460 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: 91c59c7910436c44ede608e29d9a90a287121a11
Python version: 2.7.13
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Attachments
Test _ Arch Wall Structure _ Bug.fcstd
(21.51 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 8633
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Disappearing Arch Wall Structure - Bug?

Postby yorik » Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:14 pm

You model has a cyclic dependency, which is forbidden in FreeCAD. Check the Tools -> Dependency graph:

Screenshot from 2017-03-17 16-11-03.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-17 16-11-03.png (36.59 KiB) Viewed 173 times


Normally everything is done so these situations don't happen, but it can happen easily when shaking the model manually a bit :)

The solution is either to delete one object in the loop, or to find out what property is linking to another object of the loop, and change that property to something else..
paullee
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Disappearing Arch Wall Structure - Bug?

Postby paullee » Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:32 am

yorik wrote:You model has a cyclic dependency, which is forbidden in FreeCAD. Check the Tools -> Dependency graph:


Thanks solving my problem inherent since i start learning FC!!!

My steps is similar to PartDesign... a new part, map a face to sketch, pad or pocket... but now i realize there is a difference on dependance (and somehow why i needed to house a group of wall under an wall object for something similar to work).

I also just learn from DeepSOIC about function expression link to externel geometry,now everything start to make sense!

Thanks Yorik and this forum.

It may be help if ArchWall may in this case create an additional wall object on top to house them to avoid the cyclic problem ( or a warning)

[I would now not map to the face but link to the Underlying sketch.e.g.:) ]
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 8633
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Disappearing Arch Wall Structure - Bug?

Postby yorik » Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:34 pm

paullee wrote:It may be help if ArchWall may in this case create an additional wall object on top to house them to avoid the cyclic problem ( or a warning)


It tries, but it is sometimes very hard to detect, and might not be the "fault" of the wall either.