Garden Railway Coach O&K

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Vailala

Garden Railway Coach O&K

Post by Vailala »

I've been using FreeCad for about 10 months and I'm still exploring its possibilities - especially those of the Part workbench. Attached is a jpeg of a recent drawing of an 1897 built Orenstein & Koppel narrow gauge coach. This is being 3d printed to a scale of 1:13.7 for use on a 45 mm gauge garden railway. There are about 118 parts involved, mostly printed in Shapeways SWF, a few in FUG and a few in raw brass, and four in stainless steel. It took me a while to work out ways of managing complex assemblies in FreeCad. I first tried the cloud-based softwares but my assembly files seemed too complex for them to adequately manage so I simply restructured my drawing trees to better establish clear dissociations. Because I'm drawing a scale model based on a limited core of known dimensions and a very large number of conjectured dimensions it's necessary to draw all the parts together in one assembly so that as each conjectured part is drawn it can be held against parts with known dimensions and assessed for scale accuracy. The starting point for conjectured dimensions is the assessment of full-size scantlings - e.g. a brass handrail is going to be 20 mm diameter. But it is only when all the parts have been put together that mis-estimations can be properly assessed and corrections made.

Thanks FreeCad for the journey so far. I'm confident that as I continue to explore FreeCad the horizon of possibilities will continue to expand.

Vailalahtt

p://forum.freecadweb.org/download/file.php?mode=view&id=26222
Attachments
STP0022.jpg
STP0022.jpg (128.37 KiB) Viewed 9800 times
Korslight

Re: Garden Railway Coach O&K

Post by Korslight »

Great job, Vailala!