First experiences with "Alumide" 3D print

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
HartmutG

First experiences with "Alumide" 3D print

Post by HartmutG »

Hello everybody,

I was happy to have my PCB-Housing being shipped, designed with FreeCAD, 3D-printed in Alumide.
It is my first time to have a housing 3D-SLS-printed. I chose Alumide because of its properties superior to other common 3D materials.
In the last 20yrs, all housings I designed have been based on raw milled aluminium for heavy duty industry applications.

Also being excited, I have to say, that now I am a little bit disappointed from the comparing results:

1.) It is light, I mean really light. Reason is the material, sure. Other more important reason is that for 3D you have a different approach, you want it to be light because the material is (really) expensive. Whereas milled aluminium during the design you have always on mind to mill as easy and as few as possible, therefor ending up with more material.
Oh did I mention: IT IS LIGHT! First time my wife (who is an industrial sales man) picked it up, the only response was: "That feels so freaking cheap, you cant sell that expensive". So the haptic experience is a failure, except in case you want it light for mobility/flying modells etc...

2.) The surface: Is rough, from the haptic standpoint exceptable, maybe you might want to call it a feature. Although the roughness has a drawback, it can tend to collect dirt, oilly fingerprints and is harder to really clean it.

3.) The look: It's very rough which looks nice, grey and has a very nice shimmer from the aluminium particles, see below.