Architecture work in FreeCAD

Show off your FreeCAD projects here!
ArminF
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:33 pm
Location: Augsburg, Germany

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby ArminF » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:00 pm

I'd rather think he forgot to change them to a lower position :P

But great work! Really!

Armin
Wer einen Rechtschreibfehler findet, kann ihn behalten :lol:
User avatar
regis
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby regis » Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:23 am

ArminF wrote:I'd rather think he forgot to change them to a lower position :P

But great work! Really!

Armin

:lol: :D I'll have to think of you as my lawyer in the future, I don't exactly know by what mirracle you said exactly what was going on.
User avatar
regis
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby regis » Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:29 am

Screenshot from 2017-03-28 14-29-36.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 14-29-36.png (378.81 KiB) Viewed 474 times
paulfurze wrote:regis,
I gotta ask, cos I certainly aint no architect.
How tall have you gotta be to reach those handles on those top cupboards ? :)
Or is this just FreeCad being playful !

:D :lol: Hahaha, It seems I was already imagining the future where drones, and ipads will open smart doors for you. But no kidding thanks for the remark. so many details to think about that some of the lesser details sometimes gets ignored or forgotten.
I've got more if you care to comment.
Attachments
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 14-11-11.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 14-11-11.png (402.68 KiB) Viewed 474 times
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 14-00-16.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 14-00-16.png (377.2 KiB) Viewed 474 times
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 13-41-01.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 13-41-01.png (227.32 KiB) Viewed 474 times
User avatar
regis
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby regis » Sat Apr 01, 2017 1:52 pm

creating bricks in freecad is actually very easy and a rewarding experience, how ever this increases freecad file considerably.
Freecad is amazing. :D i dont think other programs do this. Now can can know the precise amount of bricks I need and the volume of the bricks I need to trim. Too much precision for a small open source program.
Attachments
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 19-18-03.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 19-18-03.png (207.9 KiB) Viewed 447 times
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 15-47-24.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 15-47-24.png (329.76 KiB) Viewed 447 times
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 15-39-04.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 15-39-04.png (316.05 KiB) Viewed 447 times
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 15-27-17.png
Screenshot from 2017-03-28 15-27-17.png (362.93 KiB) Viewed 447 times
ArminF
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 12:33 pm
Location: Augsburg, Germany

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby ArminF » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:51 am

@ Regis: it was simply quite obvious to me what happened because I would have most likely done it in the same way: Doing one row of doors first and then copy them and move them to the higher position with "Z-placement". Forgetting that the handle is then in the wrong position is a very minor and not real important "mistake" . :mrgreen:

Great work with your bricks!

Armin
Wer einen Rechtschreibfehler findet, kann ihn behalten :lol:
User avatar
Mika38
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 10:29 pm
Location: Swindon, Uk - from France

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby Mika38 » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:08 am

yorik wrote:
bernd wrote:How about the pic 11? Did you model all the profiles yourself?


Basically they are all taken from manufacturers websites... Some offer DWG, some not, but I took some simply from their PDF catalogues, opened in inkscape, saved as DXF, scaled in LibreCAD, (there are dimensions, so it's rather easy), did some polyline cleaning, and you get nice profiles perfectly extrudable in FreeCAD. Amazingly enough, doing that in Revit is a nightmare :) Another demonstration of the powers of open-source!


Hi, this workflow seems to be quite simple and very useful for FreeCAD Arch user. Would you consider making a step by step tutorial in the documentation?

Have a nice day
;) Le chemin est long, mais la voie est libre :D The journey is long but the way is free 8-)
abdullah
Posts: 1610
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby abdullah » Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:09 pm

@yorik

I have never used the Arc WB. Is there an easy tutorial to follow to cover the basics that you could advice for the architecture-ignorant like me?
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 8670
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby yorik » Thu Apr 13, 2017 7:42 pm

abdullah wrote:I have never used the Arc WB. Is there an easy tutorial to follow to cover the basics that you could advice for the architecture-ignorant like me?


Maybe this? I think it shows the basics more or less: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Manual:BIM_modeling

I didn't really write it thinking to someone from totally out of the construction area, so that's a good test... If you find something in it hard to understand, please tell!
abdullah
Posts: 1610
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby abdullah » Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:17 pm

yorik wrote:
abdullah wrote:I have never used the Arc WB. Is there an easy tutorial to follow to cover the basics that you could advice for the architecture-ignorant like me?


Maybe this? I think it shows the basics more or less: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Manual:BIM_modeling

I didn't really write it thinking to someone from totally out of the construction area, so that's a good test... If you find something in it hard to understand, please tell!


Thanks! I have read it and I can understand it fully, so test passed!

I has helped me to understand the basics of the Arc workflow, that as I see is very similar to the Draft WB.

Only one thing... doesn't that house have a lot of ventilation between the beams? ;)
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 8670
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Architecture work in FreeCAD

Postby yorik » Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:44 pm

Well ideally after you place the beams you would need to fil the holes somehow. Which is not easy with these H-shaped beams, usually you would fill that up with cement... But that would make the tutorial a little thougher too :)