Night school program that will extend to FreeCad

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
jfeeney

Night school program that will extend to FreeCad

Post by jfeeney »

I am brand new to CAD. I have a chace to take some college online programs through a local adult education program.

My hoices seem to be AutoCad (Level 1,2,3,4), AutoDesk Inventor (Level 1,2) or AutoDesk 3D Max (Level 1,2).

Which one of the above (if any) would give me the best understanding to be able to transition to FreeCad and be able to create projects in FreeCad.

Eventually, I want a small home based business that I can do some concept drawing of a product. Then if the product gets the green light to be able to do the further detail to be able to manufacture the product using our local CNC machine or other manufacturing providers.

I would also read books about FreeCad but I have not been able to find anything.
jriegel
Founder

Re: Night school program that will extend to FreeCad

Post by jriegel »

Hi,
unfortunately FreeCAD is not jet in the shape for real world design work. I think we have to invest one more year to reach the stat to supplement a commercial CAD system.

Sorry
Jürgen
Stop whining - start coding!
jfeeney

Post by jfeeney »

Yes, I understand that FreeCad is not yet at a state that would be considered commerical substitute for some of the other programs that are out there.

I also look at the time frame for courses that I can take. For instances to take AutoCad Level 1, 2, 3, 4 -- each of the courses is about 13 weeks so to take all four in row would be a full year.