extract edge surface

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
marcorhinotec
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 8:04 pm

extract edge surface

Post by marcorhinotec »

Hi,

How to extract the edge/s of a surface to use as a line or arches for other functions.

Thanks

Marco
murdic
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:35 am

Re: extract edge surface

Post by murdic »

Make a copy and draft|explode it.
jmaustpc
Veteran
Posts: 11207
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: extract edge surface

Post by jmaustpc »

marcorhinotec wrote:How to extract the edge/s of a surface to use as a line or arches for other functions.
This can also be done in Python.

Another idea, that will work in some situations, you could extrude etc. the face to make it a solid, then map a sketch to a surface of that solid, then use sketcher's external geometry tool.
marcorhinotec
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 8:04 pm

Re: extract edge surface

Post by marcorhinotec »

Thanks :)
mario52
Veteran
Posts: 4701
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: extract edge surface

Post by mario52 »

hi
uses this macro Macro_cutLine copy the macro in console Python in FreeCAD select your line or edge and give in the console :

Code: Select all

cutLine(1, createLine = 1, biColor = 1, createPoint = 0)
same with Macro_cutCircle

This functions hare present of Macro_WorkFeatures and many other functions

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting.
My macros on Gist.github here complete macros Wiki and forum.
Post Reply