cut sweep from revolution :FIXED:

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
User avatar
watedder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Seattle USA

cut sweep from revolution :FIXED:

Postby watedder » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:49 pm

So I have a section of a revolution that I am trying to cut a sweep from for an o-ring insert. I can't think of another way to create this part, so I figured I could use the boolean-cut to make the circular groove. However cut just makes a couple of extra lines in the original instead of the groove I need.
Attachments
CutFailure.jpg
CutFailure.jpg (21.47 KiB) Viewed 354 times
Last edited by watedder on Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
salp
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:58 pm
Location: Putnam, NY

Re: cut sweep from revolution

Postby salp » Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:55 pm

Can you attach your file?
And post the FreeCAD information.

Sal
User avatar
watedder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Seattle USA

Re: cut sweep from revolution

Postby watedder » Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:23 am

oops..

posted fcstd

I'm using the daily 0.16 5235 (git) on ubuntu

Yes, I know things sometimes break, but there are missing features that I really want in the testing version.
Attachments
SweepCutProblem.fcstd
(11.6 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
User avatar
quick61
Posts: 3673
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:49 am
Location: u.S.A.

Re: cut sweep from revolution

Postby quick61 » Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:46 am

This works just fine for me when I construct the parts. In your file there are only the two simple copies, so without knowing just what you have done to create your parts for the Cut, it's hard to say what might be wrong. I can say it looks like you haven't updated your build in a while but I don't think that has anything to do with this problem.

OringGrove.png
OringGrove.png (33.6 KiB) Viewed 344 times


OringGrove.fcstd
(81.2 KiB) Downloaded 13 times


Mark

OS: Kubuntu 14.04.3 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.5356 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 70550739b66c1f9395f5cf0258413eb4851cbb3c
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
This post made with 0.0% Micro$oft products - GOT LINUX?
jmaustpc
Posts: 8097
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: cut sweep from revolution

Postby jmaustpc » Tue Aug 25, 2015 12:49 am

Simultaneous posting with Mark. :)

watedder wrote:Yes, I know things sometimes break, but there are missing features that I really want in the testing version.


Don't worry about that, this is usually the best version to use and will usually have fewer bugs that the last release version due to further development.

You could try rotating the sweep so that the line 1 and 2 are not sitting on each other....but I don't know if that will help or not. Without the full file its too hard for me to experiment with it.

sweepcut.jpeg
sweepcut.jpeg (16.47 KiB) Viewed 343 times
User avatar
watedder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Seattle USA

Re: cut sweep from revolution

Postby watedder » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:10 am

I just posted the simplified parts because it seemed to have the same problem. The original file has a bunch of other stuff that was unrelated (this would be attached later).

Here is the original parts as I made them.
Attachments
sweepCutPromOrig.fcstd
(14.55 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
User avatar
salp
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:58 pm
Location: Putnam, NY

Re: cut sweep from revolution

Postby salp » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:15 am

jmaustpc is right, i moved the sweep and the boolean operation works.

SweepCut.png
SweepCut.png (80.3 KiB) Viewed 338 times


OS: Ubuntu 15.04
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.5356 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 70550739b66c1f9395f5cf0258413eb4851cbb3c
Python version: 2.7.9
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
User avatar
watedder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Seattle USA

Re: cut sweep from revolution

Postby watedder » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:17 am

@quick61

I see you used two circles from draft to make the sweep, but I can't see how you got your orientation to make the draft circle on the revolution. Honestly I didn't even know circles could be used that way directly from draft, but I'm stymied on how you found the proper orientation.
User avatar
watedder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:11 pm
Location: Seattle USA

Re: cut sweep from revolution

Postby watedder » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:33 am

Fixed:

As mentioned changing the position of the seam worked. I was able to move the object's center to the proper place, then rotate it.
Attachments
fixed.jpg
fixed.jpg (26.64 KiB) Viewed 329 times
User avatar
salp
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:58 pm
Location: Putnam, NY

Re: cut sweep from revolution :FIXED:

Postby salp » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:47 am

I am using your file, I did not re-create it.
I only moved the sweep 0.5mm on the Z axis to test.

Now that you mention it, I looked the parts and I don't understand how you created the sweep object (I don't see a path for the circle to sweep on).