How to model offset constraints.

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
benngiro

How to model offset constraints.

Post by benngiro »

Hi everybody,

I am new to using FreeCAD and so far I love it.
I installed it in order to model a cabinet. Since I didn't know the final dimensions yet, I made heavy use of the constraints. The problem I stumbled upon when I was done, was that when I tried to adjust the size, the parts didn't behave like I expected. While describing all that went wrong in this particular model would be too much, I want to demonstrate what my problem is with a smaller example (see attached file if you want to try for youselfes):

So lets assume I have a baseplate of a furniture piece with a variable width/depth and I want to place some feet such that they have some offset from the edges.
Here is what it would look like in the sketcher:
offset-test-start.png
offset-test-start.png (37.48 KiB) Viewed 2002 times
Now if I want to change the dimensions of the baseplate from 200mm to 100mm I would expect the result to look like this:
offset-test-expectation.png
offset-test-expectation.png (37.07 KiB) Viewed 2002 times
But instead it results in this:
offset-test-result.png
offset-test-result.png (40.45 KiB) Viewed 2002 times
Funny enough, if I change the size incrementally from 200 to 150 then 100 I get the correct result.
So after looking in the issue tracker i found a similar problem: http://www.freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=1519.
Apparently, the solver can have multiple solutions and looking at my example I can also see why this is the case:
The distance constraint works in both directions.