TechDraw - projections (Arch WB)

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
cram

TechDraw - projections (Arch WB)

Post by cram »

I keep saying it I'm a total noob to all this, but hopefully someone can advise on this.

I have a drawing done in arch, using structure, panels with some arrays and fusions. How do I go about getting 3d projections in TechDraw?

I firstly all parts so they were one and a 'shell' was created but I get an error when selecting that and using Techdraw projection after creating drawing page.

Also if you don't want something to be displayed in the projections, is it just a matter of toggling the visibility off for that item first before projection? ie if I want to not show wall cladding and just the frame within a stud wall?
Last edited by r-frank on Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added workbench info
wandererfan
Veteran

Re: TechDraw - projections (Arch WB)

Post by wandererfan »

I am woefully ignorant about Arch. We'll have to wait for @yorik for a definitive answer on this. I've added "Arch WB" to the title to catch his eye.

In general, if something has a "Shape" attribute, TechDraw can display it.

3D visibility does not affect TechDraw. If the 3D "sub-object" is part of the selected "Part", it will get drawn.

What did your error message say? Can you post your FCSTD file?

wf
triplus
Veteran

Post by triplus »

cram wrote:I have a drawing done in arch, using structure, panels with some arrays and fusions. How do I go about getting 3d projections in TechDraw?
You should usually use Draft Drawing command for that.
Last edited by r-frank on Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added workbench info
wandererfan
Veteran

Post by wandererfan »