NewB, needing a little direction upfront.

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Dempsy

NewB, needing a little direction upfront.

Post by Dempsy »

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

I am new to all of this stuff. It was suggested that I use this program as opposed to Blender to create a file to utilize on a cnc plasma cutting machine. I've scanned and watched 4 or 5 tutorial videos, read much of the user manual etc., scanned and read many of the posts in the forum, it can be quite confusing. I'm interested in creating a file of a simple geometry basically consisting of a rectangle with a few wholes so that a sheet metal cnc plasma cutter can read the file. The plasma cutter uses DXF. What workbench would be best to build something like this in?
Any help would be appreciated.
P.S. Noticed your youtube stuff at the bottom of the posts. I'll check them out a little later.
Last edited by Dempsy on Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
bejant
Veteran

Re: NewB, needing a little direction upfront.

Post by bejant »

Hi Dempsey, and welcome. My suggestion is to use the Draft WB and draw on the X=Y plane.

Another option is to use Sketcher to create your geometry and then use the Draft WB > Bi-Directionally Convert tool to change the Sketcher items to Draft WB geometry, then export that as .dxf. The disadvantage is that you'd have to learn Sketcher, but doing so might not be too difficult.
NormandC
Veteran

Post by NormandC »

Hi,