not fillet possible with beziercircle components

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
xyzuvw

not fillet possible with beziercircle components

Post by xyzuvw »

Hey Everyone,

i am new to freecad. Looks like a great tool!
My Problem:
I am not able to use the fillet option on a bezierpart in a sketch (see attachment).
Seems to work only with straight lines. Is this feature still missing?
In draftmode i cant find chamfer/fillet/bevel tool at all..

Chamfering after extrusion is not a real workaroud for my case.

thx dave
nofilletpossible.jpg
nofilletpossible.jpg (104.14 KiB) Viewed 1865 times
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Willem
Veteran

Re: not fillet possible with beziercircle components

Post by Willem »

Hi, welcome to the forum,

Indeed you can not use a fillet between an arc ( it is not a bezier curve) and a straight line.
here you must use three arcs and keep the center of the big arc aligned with the straight lines.
Attachments
test.fcstd
(3.64 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
jnxd

Post by jnxd »

We could put it up as a feature request on the tracker. Doesn't look like a terribly hard thing to implement.
My latest (or last) project: B-spline Construction Project.
chrisb
Veteran

Post by chrisb »

The fillets in Sketcher are actually a shortcut for inserting a quarter arc. Open your sketch at the marked points (you can select the point and press delete, it will delete the coincidence) move the points apart and insert a quarter arc almost on the right position. The end points should not touch the other points yet!