Embedding or Embossing a logo onto a surface

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
rotormansa

Embedding or Embossing a logo onto a surface

Post by rotormansa »

Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

I've been using Blender for a few months and trying to embed a logo (stamp into a surface) or emboss (logo protrudes from the surface is quite troublesome. One can create a fine looking model but it's not a manifold and prints a bad. It is also very time consuming and have decided to look at other tools to prehaps have an easier time doing this task.

So now I'm onto FreeCad. Basically I do a bitmap trace of my logo using Inkscape, I then import it into Freecad. Freecad treats the logo as a much of curve. I've tried to use the Draft-Upgrade method but I still can't extrude the logo to give it depth since sketch-wb doesn't see the object as something that is a 2D object.

I've reviewed a few of the posts on how to do this, many are basically re-drawing over the imported curves.... that doesn't seem like a good use of time.

The logo is a circle with curved text along the perimeter of the circle with an antenna tower in the center. It's not too complex. I'd stick with blender but I started playing with FreeCad and some things are really easy to do in this tool so I thought I'd give a week to try it out.

Looking inputs.

Many thanks

Rotormansa
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Embedding or Embossing a logo onto a surface

Post by chrisb »