Arch Wall: how to draw abutting walls

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
User avatar
davecoventry
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Johannesburg
Contact:

Arch Wall: how to draw abutting walls

Postby davecoventry » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:03 am

The external wall of my building is drawn with a rectangle and the corners have no abutting edge.

However, with the internal walls, there is a line which indicates that the two walls are separate. I don't want this. I want the walls to be drawn as if it was one entity.

How do I achieve this?

Screenshot20170420075017.png
Screenshot20170420075017.png (73.08 KiB) Viewed 170 times
~ Dave
chrisb
Posts: 1858
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Arch Wall: how to draw abutting walls

Postby chrisb » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:22 am

I am not familiar with Arch WB, but I guess it's the same as with Part WB, where the same happens due to internal precision issues.
There are three ways (I know of) to solve the problem:

- Part->Refine shape, this seems to break the history, i.e. you cannot reverse it.
- Preferences->Part Design, check the "Refine" boxes; this seems to break the history as well.
- Open SCAD->Refine shape feature, this creates a new element in the tree with the original object as subelement
jidoeuf
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:06 pm

Re: Arch Wall: how to draw abutting walls

Postby jidoeuf » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:44 am

davecoventry wrote:How do I achieve this?

Use Arch Add

  1. Select the object(s) to be added, then the "host" object (the host object must be the last one you selected)
  2. Press the ImageArch Add button
Arch_Add.gif
Arch_Add.gif (81.61 KiB) Viewed 161 times


Other reference :
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Arch_tutorial#Building_the_walls
Last edited by jidoeuf on Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
davecoventry
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Johannesburg
Contact:

Re: Arch Wall: how to draw abutting walls

Postby davecoventry » Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:37 am

Thank you!

That sounds exactly what I need. I was just about to try redrawing the walls.
~ Dave
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 8661
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch Wall: how to draw abutting walls

Postby yorik » Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:38 pm

The idea to "add" a wall to another is not perfect. It will solve the problem, but i'd like to find a better solution one day to unite walls without making them dependent one on another...
paullee
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Arch Wall: how to draw abutting walls

Postby paullee » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:31 am

jidoeuf wrote:Use Arch Add

  1. Select the object(s) to be added, then the "host" object (the host object must be the last one you selected)
  2. Press the ImageArch Add button


yorik wrote:The idea to "add" a wall to another is not perfect. It will solve the problem, but i'd like to find a better solution one day to unite walls without making them dependent one on another...


Hi, I use ArchAdd but usually create an additional ArchWall object(e.g. Wall_all) to 'host' other Walls so it would be more easy to change / relocate subsequently.

Currently, i would consider the graphical representation needs (1) if the walls are of same materials or (2) of same / homogenous construction e.g. pre-cast facade to determine whether / which walls go to which wall groups.

Regarding Yorik's feature being conceived, just want know the potential usage. Thanks!
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 8661
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Arch Wall: how to draw abutting walls

Postby yorik » Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:14 pm

The whole issue of how to manage multi-layer or multi-material walls, and how to automatically join them, while keeping them independent, is a pretty hard thing to solve. For ex. Revit does some trick where wall unite graphically, but stay independent somehow... We could go that way too, it would be possible, by doing a special view provider that would compute different edges and "hide" pieces of them, but that seems very weird to me.