Help request for circumference holes, please

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Inkblotr

Help request for circumference holes, please

Post by Inkblotr »

I'm still new to CAD, new to 3D, new to modeling, new to FreeCAD and first post on the forum. Learned to draft in High School, many years ago. This is my first attempt at modeling with FreeCAD. I'm designing a tailstock turret for my metal lathe. The first part is a rotating head with 6 tool positions. The rotating head will start as 1" thick by 6" round circle. Six holes for tool positions will be bored through the rotating head piece on a 5" circle (one hole every 60 degrees). So far I've gotten this much done (file attached). I need to design one each, set screw hole that will be drilled and tapped from the circumference edge and into each tool holder hole. So far all my attempts to create a sketch to accomplish this have met with failure. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

For me, step-by-step help/advice would probably be appropriate, based on where I am learning FreeCAD.

My system and FreeCAD version information:
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6707 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: 5465bc47c95db45e0be85dc0e2872419efadce0f
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
Attachments
Tailstock Turret Rotating Head.fcstd
(24.83 KiB) Downloaded 65 times
ppemawm
Veteran

Re: Help request for circumference holes, please

Post by ppemawm »

Inkblotr wrote:I'm still new to CAD, new to 3D, new to modeling, new to FreeCAD and first post on the forum.
Welcome to the Forum. There is a steep learning curve but gets easier with practice, practice, practice...and start simple.