Part Design Help?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dgoocntzoor

Part Design Help?

Post by dgoocntzoor »

Hello,

I am new to freecad. I'm looking for a few pointers on how to create a tear drop like part. I have worked on this for a while, it resembles a tear drop, however it is kind of messy. Maybe there is another method that would make designing this shape easier? Currently I am using points and circles formed on the xyz axis in draft, then the utility to loft in part. The problem I am having is getting the bottom round, and the sides to be smooth. I have tried moving the circles around by little bits, but just can't quite get the smoothness I am looking for. Any suggestions? I have attached a screen shot.
Attachments
Screen Shot 1.docx
(143.71 KiB) Downloaded 58 times
chrisb
Veteran

Re: Part Design Help?

Post by chrisb »

Please follow the link "IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help" above. It has a red background and is hard to miss. Please read especially point 3 about your FreeCAD version and point 5 about attaching Word documents.

If you are willing to try the development version 0.17 you have bsplines in the sketcher which might well suit your needs. If you use 0.16 you can use the Part Design Workbench as well with circles of different radii. Smooth the connection with tangential constraints. If you create a sketch with the half of a sectional cut you can rotate the drop afterwards.
A Sketcher Lecture with in-depth information is available in English, auf Deutsch, en français, en español.
dgoocntzoor

Post by dgoocntzoor »

My fault, I have not seen those before.

I am using version .16.