Using FreeCAD & openCascade for professional work

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!

Using FreeCAD & openCascade for professional work

Post by Guest »

I have a professional programming background and am an electronics engineer. My company is very small and is trying to expand into creating housings as well as PCB designs, I am evaluating the 3D CAD options. I have never used 3D CAD before but have now had a little bit of a play with both FreeCAD's GUI & scripting. I am extremely impressed, keep up the good work!

I have sometimes managed to 'break' the geometry, whilst playing with designs in the gui, I'm unsure if this is a bug in the display, boolean operations or a normal part of 3D CAD (I notice that the opencascade training contains a section called 'shape healing' perhaps I've broken the shape?).

Given that 3D cad is currently 0% of the business turnover, I can't justify the astronomical annual license fee & vendor lock-in that most commercial packages require! FreeCAD is a breath of fresh air in this sense. I do also feel that I will be able to puzzle out scripting the 3D geometries to create the kind of shapes that I'm looking for. Whatever CAD solution is used in the upcoming projects will likely be the CAD solution that we use for many years to come due to the implicit lock-in.

Having said the above, my interest in free software is not completely 'free as in beer'. It's not about the money, on the condition that we actually have something to deliver at the end of the project! So I would also like to enquire as to whether it would be possible to pay for some level of support from those who are skilled developers/users.