Cannot make a pad out of sketch, issues with external geom

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
picad

Cannot make a pad out of sketch, issues with external geom

Post by picad »

Hello guys,
I am new at Freecad and started with some sketches I want to extrude.
First sketch + pad worked ok.
But 2 issues arose then for the next sketches/pads:
- it does not allow to pick up external geometries that are in the same plane (hence the sketch 2 which uses only the point of reference) except if I make the sketch using the face containing the edges I want (sketch 4)
- once my second sketch is done, I cannot pad it properly (pad4). If I do so, for some reason the pad created is the first one (and I am sure of the sketch I selected).

Another thing, I tried extrude in the part workbench, and it allows me to extrude from the sketch that did not work with pad. However I cannot make a solid out of it (the part is hollow).

I spent a couple of hours around this issue, and cannot figure out what I do wrong.
any ideas?

Thanks
demo issue.fcstd
(37.42 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
The refs:
Platform: 64-bit
Version: 0.13.1830 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-13
Hash: ec7636d7aaf2612e9b43cff5d6a424037d53e505
Python version: 2.7.5+
Qt version: 4.8.4
Coin version: 4.0.0a
SoQt version: 1.5.0
OCC version: 6.5.4
triplus
Veteran

Re: Cannot make a pad out of sketch, issues with external ge

Post by triplus »

- it does not allow to pick up external geometries that are in the same plane (hence the sketch 2 which uses only the point of reference) except if I make the sketch using the face containing the edges I want (sketch 4)