Help needed with adding fillet

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
AndyNC

Help needed with adding fillet

Post by AndyNC »

Hi,

I'm new to FreeCAD and I'm having a problem with adding a fillet to a 3D object.
I've read a few tutorials and I can get so far but I'm now stuck
If I create a rectangle and extrude it I get a 3d block.
I select two faces and use the fillet button, set a radius and predd return. The 3D block then dissapears and I get an exclamation mark next to the fillet icon under the Model list.
Please excuse the terminology, I'm new to this.

I'm using
Word size: 64-bit
Version: 0.14.3700 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-14
Hash: 32f5aae0a64333ec8d5d160dbc46e690510c8fe1
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
SoQt version: 1.6.0a
OCC version: 6.6.0

Has anyone any experience of this and could they possible tell me what I'm doing wrong.

Many thanks

Andy
NormandC
Veteran

Re: Help needed with adding fillet

Post by NormandC »

Hello Andy,

Welcome here.

There are two Fillet tools in FreeCAD, one in the Part workbench, and one in the Part Design workbench. Which one are you trying to use?

Have you looked at the online documentation?
Part Fillet
PartDesign Fillet

If your fillet radius is equal to the height of one of the faces, it will fail. Fillets cannot consume a face completely, it's a limitation of the geometric modeling kernel that FreeCAD is based on.
jmaustpc
Veteran

Post by jmaustpc »

Hi Andy welcome (first post)
AndyNC wrote:The 3D block then dissapears