Version 16 install package

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Bill Daniels

Version 16 install package

Post by Bill Daniels »

I tried downloading v16.xx for Ubuntu 16.04 but the program was crashing every few minutes so I uninstalled it. Now, I'd like to install the latest stable version but I can't find an installable package on the web. There must be hundreds of sites advertising the "latest" FreeCAD version which haven't been updated in years. Please give me a pointer. (I'm not a coder)

Bill Daniels
NormandC
Veteran

Re: Version 16 install package

Post by NormandC »

Bill Daniels wrote:I tried downloading v16.xx for Ubuntu 16.04 but the program was crashing every few minutes so I uninstalled it.
What does that even mean. There is no downloading packages for Ubuntu, I believe I told you that that already. You add the FreeCAD Stable Releases PPA to your software sources, then you install the package. It is all explained in the wiki.

http://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.ph ... ily.22_PPA
Bill Daniels wrote:I can't find an installable package on the web.
Ubuntu is not Windows, you do not look everywhere on the net for downloadable programs, you check the official website - the wiki explains it all.
Bill Daniels

Post by Bill Daniels »

Don't be too hard. I'm just an old retired slide rule engineer.

I did use the FreeCAD Stable Releases PPA from the wiki which is how I got the unstable mess. I had earlier found installable DEB files for the 0.15 release which is why I was looking for another DEB file for 0.16. I re-installed 0.16 stable with the PPAA - we'll see how it goes.
chrisb
Veteran

Post by chrisb »

Bill Daniels wrote:Don't be too hard. I'm just an old retired slide rule engineer.
I re-installed 0.16 stable with the PPAA - we'll see how it goes.
That's the way to go. If you have troubles with that version, share them here and find a helping hand.