Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
webearth
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:14 pm

Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by webearth »

I am trying to compile FreeCAD with VS2013. Follwoing https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/index.p ... eOnWindows, I downloaded FreeCAD 0.16 source code and FreeCADLibs_11.5.2_x64_VC12.7z, after setting path of lib in CMake, I am getting followng error message when configuring:

CMake Error at C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake/share/cmake-3.5/Modules/FindBoost.cmake:1647 (message):
Unable to find the requested Boost libraries.

Boost version: 1.55.0

Boost include path:
F:/2015/16-FreeCAD-0.16/FreeCADLibs_11.5.2_x64_VC12/include

Could not find the following Boost libraries:

boost_atomic

Some (but not all) of the required Boost libraries were found. You may
need to install these additional Boost libraries. Alternatively, set
BOOST_LIBRARYDIR to the directory containing Boost libraries or BOOST_ROOT
to the location of Boost.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
CMakeLists.txt:595 (find_package)


CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:599 (MESSAGE):
========================================

boost not found, install the components:

* filesystem
* program_options
* regex
* signals
* system
* thread

========================================

Can anyone help me out?
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by sgrogan »

webearth wrote: Can anyone help me out?
We had this error when we set up the Appveyor autobuilds. It turned out to be a bug in the specific version of CMake 3.5.0.
I'm using CMake 3.7.1 with no problems.
"fight the good fight"
webearth
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by webearth »

Thanks! Sgragon, I updated CMake to 3.7.1, and error disappeared.

However, my VS2013 can't open freeCAD_trunk.sln. VS2013 keeps "preparing sln...." and stops working. Is there anybody coming cross this problem?
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by sgrogan »

webearth wrote:However, my VS2013 can't open freeCAD_trunk.sln. VS2013 keeps "preparing sln...." and stops working. Is there anybody coming cross this problem?
What stops working does VS2013 crash, white screen, locks up?
Are you trying to compile the master branch or the 0.16 release?
"fight the good fight"
webearth
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by webearth »

I am trying to open FreeCAD_trunk.sln with VS2013. VS2013 hangs with "no response", I searched internet and got some solutions, but none of solutions does work for my problem.
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by sgrogan »

webearth wrote:I am trying to open FreeCAD_trunk.sln with VS2013. VS2013 hangs with "no response", I searched internet and got some solutions, but none of solutions does work for my problem.
Try opening task manager Process tab when it is not responding to see if VS is using resources. Loading the project can take quite some time if it's memory starved.
Also make sure that the build directory is not write protected.
"fight the good fight"
webearth
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by webearth »

I have waited one night (over 12 hrs) for opening project. Does it take so long time? I also checked task manager that tells me VS2013 is using cpu 1% around.

Maybe it is the issue related with VS2013
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by sgrogan »

webearth wrote:I have waited one night (over 12 hrs) for opening project. Does it take so long time? I also checked task manager that tells me VS2013 is using cpu 1% around.

Maybe it is the issue related with VS2013
12 hours for sure is too long. On Win7 x64 I'm using this version:

Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2013
Version 12.0.40629.00 Update 5
Microsoft .NET Framework
Version 4.5.51209
"fight the good fight"
webearth
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by webearth »

It is so weird! I changed a computer and downloaded VS2013 community (update 5). But CMake failed even if I changed FREECAD_LIBPACK_PATH to the path I extracted FreeCAD_Libs. Errors are as follows,

prefix: C:/Program Files/FreeCAD_trunk
datadir: data
docdir: doc
includedir: include
libdir: lib
CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:415 (message):
Could not find libpack in specified
location:D:/FreeCAD/FreeCADLibs_11.5.2_x64_VC12


PyCXX found:
Headers: D:/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-0.16/src
Sources: D:/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-0.16/src/CXX
Could NOT find SWIG (missing: SWIG_EXECUTABLE SWIG_DIR)
==================================================
SWIG not found, don't build SWIG binding for pivy.
==================================================

CMake Error at cMake/FindPySideTools.cmake:19 (get_filename_component):
get_filename_component called with incorrect number of arguments
Call Stack (most recent call first):
CMakeLists.txt:434 (find_package)


CMake Error at cMake/FindPySideTools.cmake:88 (message):
PySideTools could not be found, but are required.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
CMakeLists.txt:434 (find_package)

It looks like CMake doesn't find Lib path.

My OS: Windows 7
Source of FreeCad: 0.16
Libs: FreeCADLibs_11.5.2_x64_VC12.7z
CMake: 3.7.2
VS2013: community update 5
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Unable to find the requested Boost libraries

Post by sgrogan »

webearth wrote:It is so weird!
OK lets start from the beginning.
Please post your:
Path to FreeCAD source (git or extracted .zip, which version master or 0.16 release)
Path to Build location specified in Cmake (are you using the Cmake gui or from the command line)
Path to the libpack (I see this from your previous post, in the directory check if there is a bin folder etc. it may be a directory inside a directory problem)
"fight the good fight"
Post Reply