Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by microelly2 »

I have compiled with external pivy.
No errors :)
but now I have to find the pivy library
there is only the bin/pivy dir :?:

>>> import Draft
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
File "E:\freecad_lib11\Mod\Draft\Draft.py", line 5172, in <module>
import DraftSnap
File "E:\freecad_lib11\Mod\Draft\DraftSnap.py", line 29, in <module>
import FreeCAD, FreeCADGui, math, Draft, DraftGui, DraftTrackers, DraftVecUtils
File "E:\freecad_lib11\Mod\Draft\DraftTrackers.py", line 30, in <module>
from pivy import coin
File "E:\freecad_lib11\bin\pivy\__init__.py", line 28, in <module>
from coin import SoDB, SoNodeKit, SoInteraction
File "E:\freecad_lib11\bin\pivy\coin.py", line 14, in <module>
import _coin
ImportError: DLL load failed: Das angegebene Modul wurde nicht gefunden.
>>>

EDIT
coin4.dll is in bin
jmaustpc
Veteran
Posts: 11207
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by jmaustpc »

microelly2 wrote:I have compiled with external pivy.
No errors :)
but now I have to find the pivy library
Did you do a completely new clean build?

As I think you know, I know little about compiling on Windows as I operate from Linux, but assuming its the same here for Windows and Linux, if you have once configured/compiled with internal Pivy, you will have problems trying to re-compile with external Pivy. Werner told me once how to fix this a long time ago...if my memory is correct on Linux you have to delete the "/bin/Pivy" directory that gets created in your build directory during configure time with Cmake. But there may have been more and I don't know what the Windows equivalent would be. But a completely new clean build also avoids the problem of course. :)

I hope this helps... :)

Jim
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20323
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by wmayer »

This happens when building the local pivy fails. It copies the coin.py file but doesn't create _coin.pyd or _coin_d.pyd. Just copy the pivy files from the libpack to this directory.
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by microelly2 »

thank you jim.

reset the build directory was the right way.
now freecad runs.

the tests start well
but after 87%(75 test/11 rest) freecad hangs with 987 MB RAM and 25% CPU load.

the status line shows testArch.Archtest

how can I analyse this problem?


and last question - which files from libpack i have to deliver with the compiled freecad?
last time it was a long try and error procedure

the last official freecad 0.14 had 335 MB/684 files
is it a good approach to use these filenames ?

thanks for some hints.
peterl94
Veteran
Posts: 1001
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by peterl94 »

microelly2 wrote:and last question - which files from libpack i have to deliver with the compiled freecad?
You will need to copy all of the folders in the bin folder except 'swig' and 'pysideuic', all non debug .dll files (most debug dlls end with 'd', pcl uses _debug and boost uses -gd), and 'assistant.exe'.
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by microelly2 »

thank you peter,

I have added a PyQt4 directory and the sip.pyd file
and the scipy directory too.

I have not found them in the libpack :?

the unit test is running :)

do you want to add numpy/scipy and PyQt4 to your libpack :idea:
or should this be a decision of the user :?:
peterl94
Veteran
Posts: 1001
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by peterl94 »

So copying PyQt4 from the old libpack actually worked? It would be a different Qt version.... Anyway, I'm not going to add PyQt4, because FreeCAD does not use it and I think it would be better if macro authors updated their macros to use PySide. However, if you really need PyQt, it wouldn't be hard to write a CLbundler formula for it. The LibPacks already have numpy, and I wouldn't mind adding scipy, but unfortunately I don't have the intel fortran compiler.

Edit: Actually, I may not need the intel fortran compiler, I just discovered the silverfrost fortran compiler has a free version...
wmayer
Founder
Posts: 20323
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by wmayer »

Edit: Actually, I may not need the intel fortran compiler, I just discovered the silverfrost fortran compiler has a free version...
I just wonder whether the free license allows to publish binaries built with it:
The personal edition is free. You heard that right - free. So what's the catch? It is strictly for personal use or evaluation purposes. You can use it at home on your own personal projects. You can use it to evaluate FTN95 with the intention of purchasing it later. Any applications you create with it will display a banner announcing that it is the personal edition. You can download it here. This product is not directly supported.
And if it's even allowed the banner would be quite annoying. Also, does this compiler support 64-bit? Alternatives might be MinGW and MinGW64.
User avatar
shoogen
Veteran
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by shoogen »

peterl94 wrote:and I wouldn't mind adding scipy
Do we really need scipy in the libpack?
I allready got one installed with python(x,y). I can see adding thinks like PCL are surely useful for a CAD program.
Is there anything that really depends on scipy in FreeCAD or is it just an add-on to the python environment?
peterl94
Veteran
Posts: 1001
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Announcement: new LibPacks are available

Post by peterl94 »

Oh, I didn't see that part. For now I'm not going to bother with adding it, since it is not used by FreeCAD. If someone needs it, there are various binary packages of scipy available (though, I don't know if they work with python built with a different VS version).
Post Reply