Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
microelly2
Veteran
Posts: 4688
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by microelly2 »

To avoid name conflicts I have added subdirs to my workbenches
For example the reconstruction workbench .../Mod/reconstruction has some subdirs



This is the way to load the icons and the scripts

Code: Select all

	__dir__ = os.path.dirname(os.path.dirname(__file__))


	def getIcon(self):
		return  __dir__+ '/icons/'+self.Object.mode+'.svg'

Code: Select all

import reconstruction
import reconstruction.miki as miki
import reconstruction.tools as tools
import reconstruction.configuration as config
So I can distinguish between geodat.tools and reconstruction.tools.
Attachments
bp_023.png
bp_023.png (41.34 KiB) Viewed 3468 times
bp_024.png
bp_024.png (31.27 KiB) Viewed 3468 times
lukasubo
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:41 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by lukasubo »

Nice workbench, fasteners are always such a pain in the ass. I'm currently being made to manually draw retaining rings instead of just using the STEP files on the Spaenaur website, as a learning experience for a drafting class, but I doubt I want to be doing that for every fastener I ever use. :P

However, I'm curious. Why GPLv2? It'll never be mainlined in FreeCAD unless it's LGPL2+, right? Not necessarily a criticism, it just seems common in many FreeCAD add-ons.
User avatar
shaise
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 am

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by shaise »

lukasubo wrote: However, I'm curious. Why GPLv2? It'll never be mainlined in FreeCAD unless it's LGPL2+, right? Not necessarily a criticism, it just seems common in many FreeCAD add-ons.
To be frank, I really do not actually understand all the subtleties of all the GPL licenses, Aside from the screw-maker macro itself around which this WB is based (which is not mine, and actually IS under LGPL2) It can be any license you like.
shai
lukasubo
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:41 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by lukasubo »

shaise wrote:
lukasubo wrote: However, I'm curious. Why GPLv2? It'll never be mainlined in FreeCAD unless it's LGPL2+, right? Not necessarily a criticism, it just seems common in many FreeCAD add-ons.
To be frank, I really do not actually understand all the subtleties of all the GPL licenses, Aside from the screw-maker macro itself around which this WB is based (which is not mine, and actually IS under LGPL2) It can be any license you like.
shai
Actually, depending on how you link to that macro, it may have to also be LGPLv2. Just as a rule of thumb, though, if you want it to have a chance of being included in FreeCAD by default (not sure if it's a goal or if they'd allow it), it should be LGPLv2+ (same licence as FreeCAD).
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by triplus »

Probably it makes sense if any mod is reading this to move answers starting from here:

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11429&start=130#p115171

And are related to Workbench SVG icon support to separate thread.

Thanks.
Renderbrandt
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:52 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by Renderbrandt »

Any plans on including imperial (ansi) threads?
Renderbrandt
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:52 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by Renderbrandt »

In the mean time, you can get all kinds of fasteners (and other things) in STEP format (& others) at http://www.mcmaster.com
I use it all the time.
pperrin
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 3:06 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by pperrin »

Still loving the workbench...

What I'd really like added is a 'threaded rod' to go with the 'tap thread', and a parameter for tolerance.

I may have a look at the code to see if I can add these to mine - I am a programmer, but python isn't my thing (yet :) )...
Ruanova
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by Ruanova »

Hi, I love this macro, but I use FreeCAD v0.18
Is it possible to make it work in this version of FreeCAD?
Thank you.
User avatar
shaise
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:11 am

Re: Fasteners workbench based on screw-maker

Post by shaise »

the workbench works on ver 0.18.
use the addon manager, and install "fasteners" workbench
Post Reply