development help available - introduction

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
dsaiko

development help available - introduction

Post by dsaiko »

Hello, and welcome.

As I find FreeCAD really exciting, I would like to introduce myself and offer some future long term development help.

** Technical background:
I am a professional developer since 1997. Well, quite a past, but I was quite young then. I started as VC++ developer, being certified by MS, but moved to Java world in around 2001/2 and spent (maybe too) many years by different frameworks and databases doing mainly web application developments for different companies. As I had enough of web guis and js stuff, I moved to server side data processing in 2013.
Beginning 2016 I switched to iOS development for a large corporation, to get break from all this Java world.
My small set of github repositories can be found here: https://github.com/dsaiko?tab=repositories (but mostly quite old stuff moved to github from google code in 2014).
Was using QT4 and Qt5 for different hobby projects few years ago.
I am strongly anti MS oriented, using Mac at the office, Linux at home.
In general, some time already looking to join some opensource development, which would become my hobby, fulfil my internal needs to support some meaningful and useful open source technology, teach me new things I would not meet in my professional career. Was for example considering and looking into Slic3r Prusa Edition.
I take things quite seriously, if I start participating here, my plans would be quite long term.

** CAD background:
Kind of none, remember AutoCAD 2D at uni. Last year I felt in love with 3D printing, was looking for the best designer to use, have finally learnt Blender. With that, I found out why its not used so much for part design and why people call it "in-precise".