Want to Help FreeCAD? Please vote for Crowdin (Translation) features that would benefit translating FC

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Want to Help FreeCAD? Please vote for Crowdin (Translation) features that would benefit translating FC

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:40 pm

FreeCAD uses a 3rd party translation service called Crowdin to crowd-source translation work for the project.
Currently there is a feature requests the community can vote on to that give the crowdin devs a sense of what is popular and in demand. If we vote as a community on a specific feature we could influence the crowdin devs to implement said feature. So...here are some features IMO think would be helpful making translating FC more efficient:


To see more features you can check out https://crowdin.uservoice.com/forums/31 ... ilters/top
Last edited by Kunda1 on Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:36 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 8653
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby yorik » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:18 pm

Many people on our crowdin project complain that they cant find where a certain string is located in the code... Our .ts files contain the file & line number, but this is apparently not used on crowdin, but i didn't find that issue in the list.

In any case, most complaints i get is from people who don't understand the exact meaning of a sentence. This is normal I think, many of the sentences that appear in the FreeCAD UI only make sense in a CAD context, and when they are pulled out of it, it's hard to make sure of what they mean.

Maybe that could be more an effort from our part, to go to crowdin and write better explanations where people are asking (there is always a comments section where additional info can be written)
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 11337
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby wmayer » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:40 pm

Many people on our crowdin project complain that they cant find where a certain string is located in the code... Our .ts files contain the file & line number, but this is apparently not used on crowdin, but i didn't find that issue in the list.

I wonder if people will really understand better if they knew the exact line or file. Besides this they can use the context string and search with that in the source code. It's maybe not very convenient but this way you can find everything you need.

In any case, most complaints i get is from people who don't understand the exact meaning of a sentence. This is normal I think, many of the sentences that appear in the FreeCAD UI only make sense in a CAD context, and when they are pulled out of it, it's hard to make sure of what they mean.

Qt allows it to add a special remark to the source code which will be picked up by lupdate: http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/i18n-source-trans ... r-comments
The next question is if crowdin supports this method.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:54 pm

yorik wrote:Many people on our crowdin project complain that they cant find where a certain string is located in the code... Our .ts files contain the file & line number, but this is apparently not used on crowdin, but i didn't find that issue in the list.

Actually, they do have that feature. I don't think we are creating our .ts files correctly. Example in the code

Code: Select all

    <message>
        <location filename="../../Command.cpp" line="+97"/>
        <source>Image</source>
        <translation>Изображение</translation>
    </message>
    <message>
        <location line="+1"/>
        <source>Create image plane...</source>
        <translation>Создать плоскость изображения ...</translation>
</message>

Here is the crowdin link: https://crowdin.com/translate/freecad/560/en-ru
crowdin.png
crowdin.png (26.07 KiB) Viewed 645 times

We shouldn't be adding + or - to line numbers like: line="+97"

yorik wrote:In any case, most complaints i get is from people who don't understand the exact meaning of a sentence. This is normal I think, many of the sentences that appear in the FreeCAD UI only make sense in a CAD context, and when they are pulled out of it, it's hard to make sure of what they mean.

Maybe that could be more an effort from our part, to go to crowdin and write better explanations where people are asking (there is always a comments section where additional info can be written)

Maybe we can add screenshots? https://support.crowdin.com/adding-screenshots/
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:01 pm

yorik wrote:In any case, most complaints i get is from people who don't understand the exact meaning of a sentence. This is normal I think, many of the sentences that appear in the FreeCAD UI only make sense in a CAD context, and when they are pulled out of it, it's hard to make sure of what they mean.

wmayer wrote:Qt allows it to add a special remark to the source code which will be picked up by lupdate: http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/i18n-source-trans ... r-comments
The next question is if crowdin supports this method.

I asked a crowdin specialist and they confirmed this:
As I was told be our devs, we support such kind of comments for QT: comment extracomment translatorcomment oldcomment
Last edited by Kunda1 on Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 11337
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby wmayer » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:02 pm

Actually, they do have that feature. I don't think we are creating our .ts files correctly.

We don't create these files manually but use Qt stuff for it. And no, it's correct this way because the + indicates that the line numbers are relative. Sometimes there are also negative line numbers.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:06 pm

wmayer wrote:
Kunda1 wrote:Actually, they do have that feature. I don't think we are creating our .ts files correctly.

We don't create these files manually but use Qt stuff for it. And no, it's correct this way because the + indicates that the line numbers are relative. Sometimes there are also negative line numbers.


Don't mean to disagree but I think the relative line numbers are the problem. Other projects I've seen don't use them:
Qgis: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/qgis/ ... qgis_en.ts
Scribus: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/scrib ... s.en_US.ts

EDIT: My mistake. I am somewhat used to Transifex who's interface and functionality is more sophisticated then Crowdin's. At this time Crowdin does not have the feature of displaying filename and line number. We need to vote for this feature exactly for the above reasons: Add to context source file info for .ts files

I'm still under the impression that using relative line numbers is not future friendly. Can we reconsider this?
Last edited by Kunda1 on Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:34 pm

Sorry for the confusion. I'm getting mixed messages + my own miscomprehension is occuring.
Crowdin says:
Yes, you're right. Currently, our system doesn't add context like described here:
https://crowdin.uservoice.com/forums/31 ... r-ts-files
As a possible workaround, you could add needed information with the

Code: Select all

<comment> node: ... <context>
<name>AboutDlg</name>
<message>
<location filename="../aboutdlg.ui" line="14"/>
<source>About Torrent File Editor</source>
<translation>О программе Torrent File Editor</translation>
<comment>../aboutdlg.ui:14 MainWindow</comment>
 </message> ...



Here is an example of a current workaround:

Code: Select all

<message>
   <location filename="openscadprefs-base.ui" line="14"/>
   <source>General settings</source>
    <translation>Impostazioni generali</translation>
   <comment>"openscadprefs-base.ui" line="14"</comment>
</message>


Will produce:

screenshot-crowdin.com 2017-02-10 17-45-18.png
screenshot-crowdin.com 2017-02-10 17-45-18.png (12.64 KiB) Viewed 621 times
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:24 pm

wmayer wrote:
Actually, they do have that feature. I don't think we are creating our .ts files correctly.

We don't create these files manually but use Qt stuff for it. And no, it's correct this way because the + indicates that the line numbers are relative. Sometimes there are also negative line numbers.


Sorry for reposting, I wanted to make sure this is seen since I wanted to own up to my mistake. I am somewhat used to Transifex who's interface and functionality is more sophisticated then Crowdin's. At this time Crowdin does not have the feature of displaying filename and line number. We need to vote for this feature exactly for the above reasons: Add to context source file info for .ts files

I'm still under the impression that using relative line numbers iin translations are not future friendly. Can we reconsider this?
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 8653
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: Help vote for a Crowdin (Translation) features that could help FreeCAD

Postby yorik » Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:26 pm

wmayer wrote:Qt allows it to add a special remark to the source code which will be picked up by lupdate: http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/i18n-source-trans ... r-comments
The next question is if crowdin supports this method.

I don't think so, but this is useful to know anyway.. Maybe in the future they will.

Kunda1 wrote:Can we reconsider this?

As Werner said, we don't do that manually nor intentionally. It's generated automatically by Qt. If Qt has a way to do it another way, certainly we can use that instead.