Proposal for GSoC: Elmer-Integration

Contributions from the participants, questions and answers to their projects.
Discussions of proposals for upcoming events.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
m42kus

Proposal for GSoC: Elmer-Integration

Post by m42kus »

Hey, my name is Markus Hovorka and I'm going to apply for the Elmer-Integration GSoC project. I'm a computer science student at the TU Vienna and been involved with FreeCAD personally as well as at work for the past few years.

I was introduced to FreeCAD during a job which involved optimization of an existing product. During that time I used the Part Design and the FEM workbench for post-processing and most of the (structural) simulations I had to do.

After that I quickly got into scripting and programming in/for FreeCAD. Currently I'm being paid to develop a workbench to interface an existing solver for the simulation of the sputtering process.

I already had a look at the FEM source code and think that the goals of the Elmer-Integration are quite reasonable. I'm confident that it can be done in the time span that GSoC provides. Because of my current employment I am already familiar with the challenges and problems of interfacing an external solver as well as presenting/exposing the functionality to the user.

My involvement into the FreeCAD community is still very limited as of today. In part because the project I'm working on right now is closed source. However I maintain the freecad-git package for arch linux since a few months now and plan to contribute much more in the future.

I'm going to submit my proposal before the end of the week and look forward to spending most of my summer coding for FreeCAD ;)
Last edited by m42kus on Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
My GSoC Devlog: ceeli.github.io/gsoc
Kunda1
Veteran

Re: Proposal for GSoC: Elmer-Integration

Post by Kunda1 »

AKA drhooves 8-)
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/freecad-git/