Call for screenshots

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
arcol
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 9:02 am

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby arcol » Sat Jun 27, 2015 9:05 am

rockn wrote:WIP - Just for fun !


Outstanding. Really excellent. How is the "roof" made? With clones? Or simple copy? Or other methods?
I would really like to see the freecad file, to learn a trick or two.
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1435
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby rockn » Sat Jun 27, 2015 9:16 am

Hi arcol, thank you :)
You can get the file here : https://www.dropbox.com/s/fyb5r9eo5gufr ... fcstd?dl=0
It is in the same state as screenshot.
The wooden roof is made with a Draft Path Array along a Spline.
Feel free to open a new topic on the forum if you want to discuss about this ;)
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
arcol
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 9:02 am

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby arcol » Sat Jun 27, 2015 9:41 am

rockn wrote:The wooden roof is made with a Draft Path Array along a Spline.

I see, your roof is working, no error in your model. (the small one above the entrance). Kind of disappointing... :)

Also the woods are not properly modelled, just placed one inside another.
So if you want to make it in real world, you can't have them precut, you need to do it onsite,
which is always result in errors and gaps here and there.
On the other hand you even placed the bolts and nuts in the wood columns.
So attention on details on one hand, and overlook on another part of the model.

Just wondering, if the wood in the pergola should not be vertical. In your model it follows the curve.
Maybe your approach is better (more light can pass through the roof).
Searching through the internet following the curve is more common:
Image

Really nice model, and clean modelling technic. Only you need to finish the wooden pergola for manufacturing... :)
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1435
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby rockn » Sat Jun 27, 2015 10:04 am

arcol wrote:I see, your roof is working, no error in your model. (the small one above the entrance). Kind of disappointing... :)

Ah this roof ! No I have same problem than you when I want to cut the wall directly with it. Look inside Wall object, I model a solid to cut the wall. :(
arcol wrote:Also the woods are not properly modelled, just placed one inside another.

Yes of course, it's the next step. The model was made in only few hours.
There is some work to do on the big arches, they have to be sectioned at least in two parts and connected with metal connector.
Also the beam have to be cut a intersection, I think I will make this by cutting the original beam, same for modelling the drilling hole at each intersection.
There is also also two beams that need to be longer to be connected on the building wall. And as I have no control inside a Draft Path Array to exclude some part of the array, I think I have to downgrade the Array once the beam are well modeling and add the longer beam. Or I can hide the unwanted beam by making a boolean cut with a bigger Box.
About vertical or inclined, it's an aesthetic choice. But inclined is more easy to machining : no need to machining the big arches and it's the same cutting for each beam.
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
triplus
Posts: 4866
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby triplus » Sat Jun 27, 2015 10:49 am

@rockn

Great work. Always nice to see architecture work can cope with mechanical engineering part in FreeCAD. And that it is is not only up to the tool (software used) to push the boundary there is still human factor involved.
TheNo1Odor
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 7:02 am

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby TheNo1Odor » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:09 am

Some time ago I participated to a contest with some simple designs, for which I used FreeCAD.

Here they are (the screenshots are within the pages):
Also I helped my niece for the same contest with these designs:
User avatar
hhassey
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:01 pm
Location: Ensenada, Mexico

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby hhassey » Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:56 pm

This is a Rocket engine I was working on for Drag Racing.
Attachments
Motor_Cohete.png
Motor_Cohete.png (303.01 KiB) Viewed 1488 times
mickleclarck
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby mickleclarck » Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:02 pm

All of doing great job. I just like your creativity. I want to share my creation. But I don't know how. Any suggestion please?
Thanks in advance for help.
jmaustpc
Posts: 8075
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby jmaustpc » Sun Aug 09, 2015 5:00 am

mickleclarck wrote:All of doing great job. I just like your creativity. I want to share my creation. But I don't know how. Any suggestion please?
Thanks in advance for help.

When writing a post look just below the text input box...Attachments...click on it and then "add file".

If your FreeCAD file is too large then you have to either make it smaller or host it somewhere else and just add a link to it. Create a screen shot and add it to your post.

If your design is complex, sometimes you can create a Part WB simple copy...then delete the creation history to make the file small enough to add here.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Call for screenshots

Postby easyw-fc » Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:58 pm

Hi Yorik and all,
starting from IDF Mod importer and FreeCADPCB Mod, I developed a script to export kicad board and modules in STEP AP214 (with colors).
Kicad StepUp allows the user to modeling the 3D modules starting from FreeCAD (instead of using Wings3D), creating models in STEP AP214 and rendering the pcb board and components in native STEP AP214.
Designing in kicad native 3d-viewer will produce a fully aligned STEP version with the same view/dimensions of kicad 3d render.
Now you will have the two words with the same appearance; one can design in kicad EDA and transfer the artwork to MCAD (FreeCAD) smoothly.
Here there are the two CAD viewers compared
kicad 3d-viewer
Image
FreeCAD with the board and modules
Image
FreeCAD with the board and modules with bounding box option
Image
The idea under the script is to have a VRML library in kicad aligned to the STEP lib, and just designing in kicad as usual.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/kicadstepup/
Maurice