Sketcher - color blind user palette?

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Adeux

Sketcher - color blind user palette?

Post by Adeux »

Hi - first post

Does anyone know if someone has set up a colour blind user palette for the default drawings - complete novice here converting from autocadd and sketchup

Thanks
A2
NormandC
Veteran

Re: Sketcher - color blind user palette?

Post by NormandC »

Hello Adeux,

Welcome here. I split your reply from the Sketcher dimension number size topic because it was not really relevant to the discussion. But mostly I think it deserves its own topic.

This subject has come up once or twice on the forum, unfortunately I believe nothing came off of it.
Adeux

Post by Adeux »

Thanks - Typical Newbie Mistake.

I am 55 (maybe) and was told many years ago that I was colour blind - Cant remember how but recently I was advised that I am as colour blind as you can get in Red Green which I believe is the most prevalent (as opposed to blue - of which I can tell you nothing) type.

I use Autocadd professionally and just avoid certain colours until I have too. So my accurate laying out avoids contrasts of red and green side by side. Then it is not beyond anyones imagination that I eventually recolour a layer to whatever colour I am required to (as I am no longer interested in its interpretation) and send the drawing off.

I can see red - I can see green but on a screen that is transmitting at me it seems very hard to distinguish them and they seem "live" and interfere with one another.

So immediately I saw red dots on corners on green selected lines and tried to make sure what I had selected was red or green then confusion and squinting ensued.....and the obvious conclusion that the programmer/designer has full colour vision....