New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 6268
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm
Contact:

New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by wandererfan »

TechDraw was merged to master today. Thanks to everybody who helped get TechDraw to this point and especially to Luke who started it all.

A preliminary wiki page can be found here: TechDraw_Module

Background on the module is here: https://github.com/WandererFan/FreeCAD-TechDraw/wiki

Current bug list is here: https://github.com/WandererFan/FreeCAD-TechDraw/issues We willl move to Mantis shortly.

Note that some people are still having problems building FreeCAD with TechDraw. Please report any build problems in the Install/Compile forum.

As it says on the wiki page: "TechDraw is very much still in development. You should expect bugs!"

wf
blacey
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by blacey »

Great work guys! TechDraw is a really nice addition and clearly represents a lot of impressive work by those involved. As a result of the merge, we now have our first FreeCAD/FreeCAD macOS / OS X build that includes TechDraw available on the FreeCAD Github repo.

Any macOS / OS X build in the GitHub releases section that is commit 7957 or later includes TechDraw.

Code: Select all

OS: Mac OS X
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7957 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: (detached from 2ac560e)
Hash: 2ac560e7b027590e8d6b534b84020d4c1624ece5
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 7.0.0
Last edited by blacey on Mon Jul 11, 2016 7:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 6268
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm
Contact:

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by wandererfan »

I just built from master with no problems for this environment:

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 12.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7957 (Git)
Build type: debug
Branch: master
Hash: 2ac560e7b027590e8d6b534b84020d4c1624ece5
Python version: 2.7.3
Qt version: 4.8.1
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17

boost v1.55
g++ v4.9
cmake 3.2.3
HDF5 6.0.3
MedC 1.2.4
netgen 4.9.13
opengl -> mesa/libGL 1.2.0
swig 2.0
shiboken 1.1.0
vtk 6.3.0
and Mark has build it on Kubuntu 14.04 viewtopic.php?f=27&t=16365&start=50#p130593
Attachments
TDinMaster.png
TDinMaster.png (35.4 KiB) Viewed 10599 times
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by triplus »

Technical drawing is one of the cornerstones of any creative process. FreeCAD now has a straightforward solution to achieve exactly that.

Thanks to all involved over the years for achieving this!
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 6268
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm
Contact:

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by wandererfan »

TechDraw in master also builds and runs with OCC7. Same support libraries as last post.

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 12.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7957 (Git)
Build type: debug
Branch: master
Hash: 2ac560e7b027590e8d6b534b84020d4c1624ece5
Python version: 2.7.3
Qt version: 4.8.1
Coin version: 3.1.3
OCC version: 7.0.0
User avatar
chakkree
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 12:58 am
Location: Bangkok Thailand

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by chakkree »

I insert SVG file(Export from DWG file) to TechDraw and set scale property, result as Fig.1
Then close file and re-open that result as Fig.2

I'm fixed this problem by python macro

Code: Select all

for obj in FreeCAD.ActiveDocument.Page001.Views:
    obj.touch()
FreeCAD.ActiveDocument.recompute()
Overall, is very good. I can move each image by dragging.
Test_insertSVG.png
Test_insertSVG.png (214.94 KiB) Viewed 10507 times
Test_insertSVG_reopen.png
Test_insertSVG_reopen.png (274.78 KiB) Viewed 10507 times
Test_insertSVG.FCStd
(305.6 KiB) Downloaded 189 times
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7957 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2ac560e7b027590e8d6b534b84020d4c1624ece5
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.0.0
Renato Rebelo
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Vouzela - Portugal

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by Renato Rebelo »

Hello,
I have been testing and it works very well, but as an architect I usually use the arch section plan to generate views, and this does not work yet, there are plans to include this feature?
thank you
Renato Rebelo
my native language is not English, please excuse me any incorrectness, I apologize for any inconvenience caused, thank you
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 6268
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm
Contact:

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by wandererfan »

chakkree wrote:I insert SVG file(Export from DWG file) to TechDraw and set scale property, result as Fig.1
Then close file and re-open that result as Fig.2
Thanks for reporting. https://github.com/WandererFan/FreeCAD- ... /issues/59 added.

Clever work-around with the python code.

wf
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 6268
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm
Contact:

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by wandererfan »

Renato Rebelo wrote: as an architect I usually use the arch section plan to generate views, and this does not work yet, there are plans to include this feature?
The current "Draft View" function is a placeholder https://github.com/WandererFan/FreeCAD- ... w/issues/5.

I'm not very familiar with Arch, but the plan is to include everything.

wf
User avatar
yorik
Founder
Posts: 13640
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Re: New Module for Technical Drawings (TechDraw)

Post by yorik »

Congrats guys, amazing work!!!
I can help with Draft View if you want wandererfan, just call if needed
Locked