Importing STEP files and grouping features plus scale

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
KAJ

Importing STEP files and grouping features plus scale

Post by KAJ »

Hello Everyone,

I am new to FreeCAD and 3D cad in general. I am trying to create a drawing using multiple manufacturer's products. I have downloaded the required STEP files and am ready to create a larger drawing out of multiple components combined with some parts that I will design to integrate them together. I am having two problems and haven't been able to figure out a solution to either and haven't found any help in the forums:

1. When I try to move using the translation feature under the data tab (placement), it breaks apart the existing drawing into its parts and moves them differently. This is even when I have selected all pieces of the component that I am trying to arrange on my larger drawing. Is there a way that I can group or combine the original pieces into one new part that can be moved as a group? I tried the group feature in the model tab of the combo view on part designer but did not have any luck. I would also like to rotate and translate these imported step files but haven't had luck. Some drawings work and others do not, so I think it may be in how the original step file was created or saved.