vtk postprocessing, color gradient

About the development of the FEM module/workbench.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 3871
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby bernd » Thu Jun 09, 2016 12:42 pm

I was just playing with the vtk postprocessing.

Could someone confirm the following for the color gradient:

- changing Maximum and Minimum is not working at all
- changing Decimals is not working at all

screen.png
screen.png (252.35 KiB) Viewed 578 times


OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7709 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7f2833b465f544a8d49a36382c00e7c9c85a4abb
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
vejmarie
Posts: 443
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:52 pm
Location: Somewhere between France, USA and Taiwan
Contact:

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby vejmarie » Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:38 pm

Hi Bernd,

what is your VTK release ? Looks like to work on mine :( (7)

vejmarie
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 2992
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby sgrogan » Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:29 pm

bernd wrote:Could someone confirm the following for the color gradient:

- changing Maximum and Minimum is not working at all
- changing Decimals is not working at all
It works for me. But I found another bug. Set minimum at 0 and maximum at 2500 click OK. Double click the color bar to reopen the dialog. Maximum has changed to 2,500. Click OK. I get a pop-up that says "The maximum value must be higher than the minimum value" changing maximum to 2500 and clicking OK works. I'm English language US locale.
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7709 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7f2833b465f544a8d49a36382c00e7c9c85a4abb
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
VTK 7.0
Download .7zip, so the same version as bernd.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 3871
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby bernd » Fri Jun 10, 2016 6:26 am

Thanks you guys for testing.

sgrogan wrote:
bernd wrote:Could someone confirm the following for the color gradient:
- changing Maximum and Minimum is not working at all
- changing Decimals is not working at all
It works for me. But I found another bug. Set minimum at 0 and maximum at 2500 click OK. Double click the color bar to reopen the dialog. Maximum has changed to 2,500. Click OK. I get a pop-up that says "The maximum value must be higher than the minimum value" changing maximum to 2500 and clicking OK works. I'm English language US locale.
OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.7709 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 7f2833b465f544a8d49a36382c00e7c9c85a4abb
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
VTK 7.0
Download .7zip, so the same version as bernd.
:shock: :o
Same FreeCAD (same downloaded package from github dev releases), same OS, only difference seams english language and us locale, I'm on swiss german language und locale. I need to test on my Debian Jessie too.

Is there someone out there who has the same problem like me? Not working min max values in vtk color bar?

BTW: We had problems in the regard of locale a few times. Does it make sence to include this information in the FreeCAD about dialog?
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 3871
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby bernd » Fri Jun 10, 2016 6:56 am

to make sure I did it the right way. Here is what I did.

- Start FreeCAD
- change to Start WB and load the FEM 3D example
- Select the result object and click on "Creeates Post Processing Pipline"
- Double click on the new pipline
-- Mode --> Nodes
-- Field --> Stress
-- ok
-- colorbar min = 11.639
-- colorbar max = 409.766
- Double click on the colorbar
-- Change maximum to 300
-- Change minimum to 100
-- click on ok
- Nothing has changed
Last edited by bernd on Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:55 am, edited 2 times in total.
ickby
Posts: 2426
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby ickby » Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:01 am

Hey guys,

sorry, can't test it at the moment and also have no time in the next week to work on this further. But the color framework used for FEM is the generic FreeCAD one which is also used in mesh workbench for example. So you could try if the Mesh workbench curvature plots have the same faulty behaviour or if it is only visible in FEM code. Than the bug report in the tracker should go towards the framework or FEM implementation.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 3871
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby bernd » Fri Jun 10, 2016 7:46 am

Thanks ickby, for the informations! Next Try.

- Start FreeCAD
- Change to Start WB --> load PartDesign example
- Change to Mesh WB
- Select object Pocket002 in TreeView --> Meshes --> "Create Mesh from shape" --> in Tasks Widget --> ok
- Make Pocket002 Visibility to False
- Change Pocket002 (Meshed) Display Mode to Flat Lines
- Select Pocket002 (Meshed) --> Meshes --> Cuvature Plot --> double click on the color bar --> change values
- Works for me !!! :shock:

screen.png
screen.png (225.53 KiB) Viewed 509 times
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 11232
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby wmayer » Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:01 am

sgrogan wrote:It works for me. But I found another bug. Set minimum at 0 and maximum at 2500 click OK. Double click the color bar to reopen the dialog. Maximum has changed to 2,500. Click OK. I get a pop-up that says "The maximum value must be higher than the minimum value" changing maximum to 2500 and clicking OK works. I'm English language US locale.

I can confirm this part of the problem. It seems that the check for min/max doesn't like the group separators in numbers. When removing it then it works.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 11232
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby wmayer » Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:07 am

bernd wrote:Could someone confirm the following for the color gradient:
- changing Maximum and Minimum is not working at all
- changing Decimals is not working at all

If you mean that the color gradient in the 3d view doesn't update when changing min/max then it must be related to the view provider in fem.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 11232
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: vtk postprocessing, color gradient

Postby wmayer » Fri Jun 10, 2016 9:29 am

git commit a363d6f fixes the group separator issue.