Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
User avatar
sliptonic
Posts: 1903
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:46 pm
Contact:

Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby sliptonic » Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:34 pm

I've noticed all PRs are failing. Is anyone aware of what's happening?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6096
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby sgrogan » Fri Oct 16, 2020 4:08 pm

sliptonic wrote:
Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:34 pm
I've noticed all PRs are failing. Is anyone aware of what's happening?
There was a QT4/PY2 failure that wmayer has fixed. (https://travis-ci.org/github/FreeCAD/Fr ... /736341356)
Also the OSX builds have been re-enabled but they are consistently timing out. Some ccache problem I assume.
"fight the good fight"
sww1235
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:12 pm

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby sww1235 » Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:37 am

The last Mac build terminated at 84% with no output received in 10 minutes. Seems more like a legit failure to me.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16460
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby wmayer » Sat Oct 17, 2020 6:39 am

Since the macOS builds have been re-activated the problems are back. If we cannot find a solution soon it's best to disable it again.
However, what I don't understand is why the build succeeded with the PR to enable it and afterwards fail every single time.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6096
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby sgrogan » Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:41 am

wmayer wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 6:39 am
what I don't understand is why the build succeeded with the PR to enable it and afterwards fail every single time.
I don't think it ever worked. travis.yml at the lat successful build https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... s.yml#L204

I still think it is a caching problem around here in current mater https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blam ... s.yml#L326
"fight the good fight"
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16460
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby wmayer » Sat Oct 17, 2020 1:14 pm

Bei3lay
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby Bei3lay » Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:40 pm

I think this error is described in the Travis CI docs https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/common- ... ing-errors
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 6096
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby sgrogan » Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:14 pm

Bei3lay wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:40 pm
I think this error is described in the Travis CI docs https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/common- ... ing-errors
Thanks for the clue!
vejmarie wrote: pinged by pinger macro
"fight the good fight"
Bei3lay
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:48 am

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby Bei3lay » Sun Oct 18, 2020 7:43 am

I've looked into this and it is not the problem I assumed it was
Bei3lay wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:40 pm
I think this error is described in the Travis CI docs https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/common- ... ing-errors
The problem seems to be just a simple timeout. https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/common- ... timing-out
Our builds have a global timeout and a timeout that’s based on the output. If no output is received from a build for 10 minutes, it’s assumed to have stalled for unknown reasons and is subsequently killed.
Message in the log:
No output has been received in the last 10m0s, this potentially indicates a stalled build or something wrong with the build itself.
Check the details on how to adjust your build configuration on: https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/common- ... s-received

The build has been terminated
There is also described a way how to adjust this if build takes more then 10 minutes. I also noticed that some of the timeouts are caused by the configuration, if complete build takes too long.
/Users/travis/.travis/functions: line 142: 84328 Killed: 9 sudo gtimeout -s KILL 7200 make -j2 install

cache directory /Users/travis/.ccache

primary config /Users/travis/.ccache/ccache.conf

secondary config (readonly) /usr/local/Cellar/ccache/3.7.12/etc/ccache.conf

stats updated Sat Oct 17 08:40:52 2020

stats zeroed Sat Oct 17 06:40:56 2020

cache hit (direct) 0

cache hit (preprocessed) 0

cache miss 3172

cache hit rate 0.00 %

called for link 57

called for preprocessing 1587

multiple source files 1583

cleanups performed 0

files in cache 6261

cache size 364.4 MB

max cache size 5.0 GB

/Users/travis/.travis/functions: line 137: /usr/local/MacOS/FreeCAD: No such file or directory
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16460
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Travis failing on all Pull Requests

Postby wmayer » Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:25 pm

And is it possible to avoid to install the packages for the macOS build environment for every build again and again? When e.g. comparing it with the Linux build then the latter starts the compile process immediately while for macOS it takes half an hour until the packages are installed.