Porting to python3

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
RogerK
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Elsau

Re: Porting to python3

Postby RogerK » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:07 am

wmayer wrote:
Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:56 am
git commit c1c5dd9bb is supposed to fix the tab issue. On my system I could only test it with Py2&Qt4 because there I don't have the QtWebkit module available.
Finally the new conda build arrived ;-). I can confirm with the latest conda build 16085 on Win10/64 the issue with the language Čeština is fixed and the start page is displayed. Hrvatski is still fine. The label of the tabs looks correct too with Py3QT5. Many thanks Werner for fixing.
mumf83
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:14 pm

Re: Porting to python3

Postby mumf83 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:26 am

I've downloaded the latest release of 0.18-pre (FreeCAD_0.18-15525.1a7d3d9-OSX-x86_64-Qt5-Py3.dmg
) for the MAC and when I switch to the 'OpenSCAD' workbench I get the following error:

Screenshot 2019-03-13 at 09.17.14.png
Screenshot 2019-03-13 at 09.17.14.png (241.67 KiB) Viewed 577 times

And then if a switch back and forth to the 'OpenSCAD' workbench I don't see any of the options only what I've added as a custom option, Clone.

Screenshot 2019-03-13 at 09.23.27.png
Screenshot 2019-03-13 at 09.23.27.png (214.05 KiB) Viewed 577 times

OS: macOS 10.14
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15525 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1a7d3d9a37fe43468c8ac84590c1db53e2b2000a
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
mumf83
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:14 pm

Re: Porting to python3

Postby mumf83 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:43 pm

mumf83 wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:26 am
I've downloaded the latest release of 0.18-pre (FreeCAD_0.18-15525.1a7d3d9-OSX-x86_64-Qt5-Py3.dmg
) for the MAC and when I switch to the 'OpenSCAD' workbench I get the following error:


Screenshot 2019-03-13 at 09.17.14.png


And then if a switch back and forth to the 'OpenSCAD' workbench I don't see any of the options only what I've added as a custom option, Clone.


Screenshot 2019-03-13 at 09.23.27.png


OS: macOS 10.14
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.15525 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1a7d3d9a37fe43468c8ac84590c1db53e2b2000a
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)

I've just downloaded a new version for MACOS from this thread post - https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 50#p293468 - and now OpenSCAD is working as normal.

OS: macOS 10.14
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16087 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: ec86db4bfbb1f7e165d0620cb4d85c2b9beb36bc
Python version: 3.7.1
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
roncromberge
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:08 pm
Location: Nederland

Re: Porting to python3

Postby roncromberge » Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:04 pm

Hello all,

I'm not a developer. And a beginning free cad user.

Finally there was a very recent .18 conda py3 pre-release for the Mac. FreeCAD_0.18-16079-OSX-x86_64-conda-Qt5-Py3.dmg

Unfortunately it seems that there only a handful Mac free cad users in the scene looking at the very low beta release rate compared with windows.

The latest .18 conda Mac release crash every time. See screen dump from the console start.

I hope that you can do something with this info. And I hope that the Mac builds frequency goes up and match the windows rate :-)
Schermafbeelding 2019-03-13 om 19.04.08.png
Schermafbeelding 2019-03-13 om 19.04.08.png (248.45 KiB) Viewed 486 times
Keep on the good work,

greeting,

Ron Cromberge
Jee-Bee
Posts: 1966
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 10:32 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Porting to python3

Postby Jee-Bee » Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:10 pm

roncromberge
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:08 pm
Location: Nederland

Re: Porting to python3

Postby roncromberge » Thu Mar 14, 2019 6:27 pm

YES!!

Downloaded the build from dropbox (link in forum message ) And I got a working desktop!!

Super.

Now I can test the functionality with my very little knowledge of free cad :-) I'm just a rookie, learning steady.
ezzieyguywuf
Posts: 635
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Porting to python3

Postby ezzieyguywuf » Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:43 pm

Aside from this wiki page, is there any where else I can look to get an overall idea of where the current development is regarding the port to python3?

I ask because I am working on compiling FreeCAD on my gentoo linux machine using qt5 (since qt4 is no longer supported in gentoo), and as a part of that experience I am finding I need it install PySide and Shiboken, but since my FreeCAD version is using python2.7 I'm installing older (unsupported?) versions of these python modules.

Also (and maybe this is because I'm doing something wrong?) I'm finding that the FreeCAD CMake configuration does not find my PySide2 and Shiboken2 installs, seemingly because there does not exist a FindPySide2.cmake nor FindShiboken2.cmake file in the project tree. I was going to spend some time creating these cmake "finders" but I don't want to duplicate any work that has already been done.
triplus
Posts: 8786
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Porting to python3

Postby triplus » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:26 pm

Not 100% sure about Gentoo Linux, but if you have all needed build dependencies installed, doing this might suffice:

Code: Select all

-DBUILD_QT5=1 -DPYTHON_EXECUTABLE="/usr/bin/python3"
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5913
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Porting to python3

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:12 pm

Looks like gentoo is pretty up to date with many of the dependencies: https://github.com/luzpaz/FreeCAD-dependencies/
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
ezzieyguywuf
Posts: 635
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 1:11 am

Re: Porting to python3

Postby ezzieyguywuf » Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:40 am

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:12 pm
Looks like gentoo is pretty up to date with many of the dependencies: https://github.com/luzpaz/FreeCAD-dependencies/
@Kunda1, you're correct, we have pretty good coverage in gentoo, however my issue is specifically with shiboken and pyside, and as you can see from your link we don't really have that available in gentoo's package management system.

I'm attempting to utilize this in pip via a virtual environment.