Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
brusk
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:33 pm

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by brusk »

jmaustpc wrote:
brusk wrote:Hm. I'll have to time it next time I build :) .
Yes, me too! :)

I used to compile from scratch a lot, as I use to test many developer's branches, however for a while now I have been and still will be restricted to my mobile Internet access and have to keep data down to very low levels or pay a lot, its also slow etc. etc.
Ok, it took 18 minutes and 19 seconds for configure + compile from scratch on my dual core 2.2 GHz i7. I must have thought about an incremental build before 8-) .
peterl94
Veteran
Posts: 1001
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by peterl94 »

brusk wrote:So is the version of matplotlib pinned or is it ok to ship the current version?
Any version that works is fine by me.

I tried setting up an os x travis build, but ran into some issues that I didn't have the time to look into then. Not related to the travis environment, so I think it could work.
tomwj
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by tomwj »

Hi,

I'm also using FreeCAD on a Mac so would be happy to help with testing any releases.

I've been trying to compile it too but have not managed it yet.

I followed the guide here http://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/?title=CompileOnMac

CMake parameters

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
cd ./build
cmake \
-debug--output \
-DBUILD_ROBOT="0" \
-DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE="Debug" \
-DFREECAD_USE_EXTERNAL_PIVY="1" \
-DFREETYPE_INCLUDE_DIR_freetype2="/usr/local/include/freetype2" \
-DPYTHON_LIBRARY="/usr/local/cellar/python" \
-DHOMEBREW_PREFIX="1" \
../

Code: Select all

-- Could NOT find Spnav (missing:  SPNAV_LIBRARY SPNAV_INCLUDE_DIR) 
-- libshiboken built for Release
-- Found PySide Tools: /usr/local/bin/pyside-uic, /usr/local/bin/pyside-rcc
-- -- matplotlib-1.1.1 has been found.
-- Platform is 64-bit, set -D_OCC64
-- Build type: Debug
git
/Users/tomjennings/src/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-git/src/Build/Version.h written
-- Note: Doxygen docs will look better with graphviz's dot installed.
-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "/Users/tomjennings/src/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-git/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
See also "/Users/tomjennings/src/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-git/CMakeFiles/CMakeError.log".
Full output - https://gist.github.com/tomwj/a49a5d6fb3260ca1a086

My understanding is Spnav and Doxygen aren't critical to the build. It's also looking at the stock python, but I tried pointing it to a newer version too. I've read through to two log files generated but wasn't sure what was causing the build to fail.

Any idea's about what I should try next?
peterl94
Veteran
Posts: 1001
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by peterl94 »

Hi tomwj,

I imagine the error comes from this -DPYTHON_LIBRARY="/usr/local/cellar/python". Remove that, and it should find python automatically. If for some reason it doesn't, you need to give it the path to the actual python library, not a folder. On my system it is: /usr/local/Cellar/python/2.7.10_1/Frameworks/Python.framework/Python

Peter
User avatar
brusk
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:33 pm

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by brusk »

tomwj wrote:Hi,

I'm also using FreeCAD on a Mac so would be happy to help with testing any releases.

I've been trying to compile it too but have not managed it yet.



Any idea's about what I should try next?
Great, another Mac user :) !

I compile with the following line

Code: Select all

$ cmake -DBUILD_ROBOT="0" -FREECAD_USE_EXTERNAL_PIVY="1" FREETYPE_INCLUDE_DIR_freetype2="/usr/local/include/freetype2" ../src && make -j3
and I'm using Homebrew's Python. Try to install that maybe. Then you'll also get the newest Python (2.x).
User avatar
brusk
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:33 pm

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by brusk »

Ok, I've uploaded a build here: https://github.com/tiktuk/FreeCAD/relea ... _pre_r6010 :) . I just downgraded to the latest compatible Matplotlib version (1.4.3).
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by sgrogan »

brusk wrote:Ok, I've uploaded a build here: https://github.com/tiktuk/FreeCAD/relea ... _pre_r6010 :) . I just downgraded to the latest compatible Matplotlib version (1.4.3).
Great :D
@brusk maybe you could make a post in feature announcements so we get more testers. Thanks for this.
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
brusk
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:33 pm

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by brusk »

sgrogan wrote:
brusk wrote:Ok, I've uploaded a build here: https://github.com/tiktuk/FreeCAD/relea ... _pre_r6010 :) . I just downgraded to the latest compatible Matplotlib version (1.4.3).
Great :D
@brusk maybe you could make a post in feature announcements so we get more testers. Thanks for this.
Sure, will do :) .
blacey
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by blacey »

@brusk, thanks a ton for trying to provide more recent builds. I ran into a cut issue that only exists in the outdated Mac OS X build, so I built FreeCAD from the latest git source this morning. In doing so, I believe I found a solution to what I think is blocking @peterl94's travis ci builds and sent him a PM with the following suggested solution:

Code: Select all

export PYTHONUSERBASE=$(python-config --prefix)
pip install --user matplotlib
Basically, you define the user base path and then include the --user switch to pip. YThis will resolve the issue of matplotlib referencing TK in /System/Library. I saw that you downgraded matplotlib but this approach works with the latest home-brew matplotlib. (NOTE: I just realized that @peterl94 has configured Travis-CI to verify pull requests so I forked his git repo, made the change, pushed and opened a pull request that Travis CI is running now).

That said, I have one outstanding issue where I am not able to build libarea from either the official repo or clones where others have worked to clean up the cmake configuration a bit. Everything compiles but it fails with unresolved external boost references when linking. Do you have any notes handy with how to build libarea on mac os x that you can share here?
User avatar
brusk
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 4:33 pm

Re: Mac pre-release download way behind Windows version

Post by brusk »

blacey wrote:@brusk, thanks a ton for trying to provide more recent builds. I ran into a cut issue that only exists in the outdated Mac OS X build, so I built FreeCAD from the latest git source this morning. In doing so, I believe I found a solution to what I think is blocking @peterl94's travis ci builds and sent him a PM with the following suggested solution:

Code: Select all

export PYTHONUSERBASE=$(python-config --prefix)
pip install --user matplotlib
Basically, you define the user base path and then include the --user switch to pip. This will resolve the issue of matplotlib referencing TK in /System/Library. I saw that you downgraded matplotlib but this approach works with the latest home-brew matplotlib. (NOTE: I just realized that @peterl94 has configured Travis-CI to verify pull requests so I forked his git repo, made the change, pushed and opened a pull request that Travis CI is running now).
Cool, I didn't have that problem though. My problem was that NavigationToolbar2QTAgg is renamed to NavigationToolbar2Q in the latest matplotlib. Don't you get an error if you

Code: Select all

import Plot
Plot.figure("TrigonometricTest")
in FreeCAD's Python Console?
blacey wrote: That said, I have one outstanding issue where I am not able to build libarea from either the official repo or clones where others have worked to clean up the cmake configuration a bit. Everything compiles but it fails with unresolved external boost references when linking. Do you have any notes handy with how to build libarea on mac os x that you can share here?
I needed to:

Code: Select all

$ brew install boost-python
Did you do that? Need to get wiki permissions so I can add it to the wiki…
Post Reply