Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by looo »

Finally the freecad-package for conda-forge was accepted. So now it should be possible to install freecad with py3 also on osx. Maybe there is a mac-guy who want to try it...

https://anaconda.org/conda-forge/freecad/files
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by looo »

new packages of freecad available from conda-forge:

- occt 7.3
- boost 1.67
- updated qt5.6 [linux, osx]
- netgen-meshing [osx, not yet tested]
- found qtwebengine package, startpage should be enabled [osx, not yet tested]

other things to come:
- updating to qt5.9 once all dependencies are available
- updating to python3.7 once all dependencies are available
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by looo »

conda-forge slowly updating to a new gcc7 based toolchain for linux and mac. This site tracks the status:

https://conda-forge.org/status/

The PR for freecad won't come that soon. Currently it is listed at position 1648. Many other deps are not yet ported (qt, coin3d, ...) For the currently added spooles feedstock the PR was already merged. If any one is interested into how this look:

https://github.com/conda-forge/spooles-feedstock/pull/1

The packages build with gcc7 are added to the channel conda-forge/label/gcc7 . These packages should be compatible with packages from the anaconda-distribution.
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by looo »

Today the linux buid somehow failed. I am not sure what the error is all about. Can't reproduce this locally in a updated centos6-docker-container. So I will upload a build which was done locally...

Maybe someone has an idea what went wrong here:

Code: Select all

Warning: failed to download source.  If building, will try again after downloading recipe dependencies.
Error was: 
Command '['/opt/conda/bin/git', 'clone', '--mirror', 'https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD', '/home/conda/feedstock_root/build_artifacts/git_cache/github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD']' returned non-zero exit status 127.
Failed to download or patch source. Please see build log for info.
https://circleci.com/gh/looooo/freecad- ... build-link
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by triplus »

looo wrote: Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:10 pm Today the linux buid somehow failed. I am not sure what the error is all about.
Maybe (temporary) network issues?

P.S. I would try again after few hours. To see is the issue persists.
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by looo »

triplus wrote: Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:39 pm P.S. I would try again after few hours. To see is the issue persists.
I tried several times today, but will do again next sunday....
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by triplus »

Interesting issue:

Code: Select all

from PySide import QtGui
QtGui.QToolButton().style().layoutSpacing()

Code: Select all

RuntimeError: Internal C++ object (PySide2.QtWidgets.QStyle) already deleted.
Not sure ATM what exactly is going on. But as this is working fine on my local Py2/Py3 builds i do suspect some Conda package specific bug could be at play.
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by looo »

triplus wrote: Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:56 am Interesting issue:

Code: Select all

from PySide import QtGui
QtGui.QToolButton().style().layoutSpacing()

Code: Select all

RuntimeError: Internal C++ object (PySide2.QtWidgets.QStyle) already deleted.
Not sure ATM what exactly is going on. But as this is working fine on my local Py2/Py3 builds i do suspect some Conda package specific bug could be at play.
How to reproduce?

Code: Select all

>>> from PySide import QtGui
>>> QtGui.QToolButton().style().layoutSpacing()
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
TypeError: PySide2.QtWidgets.QStyle.layoutSpacing(): not enough arguments
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by looo »

Ok, this seems to be a problem of the appimage, but not of a conda-environment. For the conda-environment I am using the latest available pyside2 package (conda-forge).
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Packaging solution: (ana)conda

Post by triplus »

looo wrote: Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:48 am Ok, this seems to be a problem of the appimage, but not of a conda-environment. For the conda-environment I am using the latest available pyside2 package (conda-forge).
I can't find the thread ATM, but you reported an issue with command panel. And basically this is causing it. As i am near the final release i decided to look into it. What i can do is to try to detect the issue. And when detected to always use Grid layout (instead of Flow layout option) on such FreeCAD builds. Or to explore other options regarding Flow layout. But i guess as this looks like package/packaging issue. Best to try to address that first. Therefore can you test the code snippet in the same Conda environment we use for creating the AppImage? To confirm this is likely some older PySide 2 related issue. Or if the issue won't be detected to indicate a glitch in the AppImage.
Post Reply