appimage

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: appimage

Postby NormandC » Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:11 pm

Before uploading the change to the gitpackaging repo, I'm not clear on the AppImage process. Does it still require to work on the existing PPA package?
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5203
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: appimage

Postby sgrogan » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:06 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sun Apr 22, 2018 7:11 pm
Before uploading the change to the gitpackaging repo, I'm not clear on the AppImage process. Does it still require to work on the existing PPA package?
Yes. But there will be a backport to build once this is fix is made.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: appimage

Postby NormandC » Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:58 am

Okay, we have to make a new backport release anyway, there have been 4 more backported commits since revision 13515. :?

14 backported bug fixes since the release 17 days ago, for 0.16 it took us more than a year to get half as many :D
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: appimage

Postby NormandC » Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:17 am

sgrogan wrote:
Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:06 pm
Yes. But there will be a backport to build once this is fix is made.
I noticed you just changed the download page links for the Win and Mac versions, please don't start a freecad-stable PPA build as long as I haven't committed the desktop file fix to the gitpackaging branch.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5203
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: appimage

Postby sgrogan » Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:19 am

NormandC wrote:
Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:17 am
I noticed you just changed the download page links for the Win and Mac versions, please don't start a freecad-stable PPA build as long as I haven't committed the desktop file fix to the gitpackaging branch.
Daily is building, I will not touch stable today :)

FreeCAD moves fast :)
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: appimage

Postby NormandC » Tue Apr 24, 2018 2:34 am

I updated the gitpackaging:release branch with the desktop file fix, and updated gitversioning:releases/FreeCAD-0-17 branch, then I requested a new build for the freecad-stable PPA. In a few hours, (if the builds are successful) it will be possible to update the 0.17 Release AppImage so all platforms will be equal.

EDIT: the freecad-0.17.13519 packages are now online.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5203
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: appimage

Postby sgrogan » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:13 pm

@triplus, are the recipes ready?
Can you give me a re-fresher for building locally?
Do we need to change deploy from 0.18 to 0.18_pre on https://travis-ci.org/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-A ... tification?
blacey
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: appimage

Postby blacey » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:28 pm

FYI, to change the GitHub deployment destination, set the DEPLOY_RELEASE variable in the Travis repo/build settings to 0.18_pre (it is currently set to 0.17_pre). Happy to set it if desired.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5203
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: appimage

Postby sgrogan » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:37 pm

blacey wrote:
Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:28 pm
FYI, to change the GitHub deployment destination, set the DEPLOY_RELEASE variable in the Travis repo/build settings to 0.18_pre (it is currently set to 0.17_pre). Happy to set it if desired.
Sure, but how to do this in the future? I thought this was controlled by the .yaml and your helper scripts?
triplus
Posts: 8434
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: appimage

Postby triplus » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:42 pm

sgrogan wrote:
Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:13 pm
@triplus, are the recipes ready?
I wanted to make the PR today but it will have to wait until tomorrow. Everything is/was more or less working fine except one thing. And that is when enabling desktop integration launcher icon just didn't want to show. Therefore generic icon is/was used instead. I won't investigate this further as i gave it the best shot today. But will mention it tomorrow in the PR. Maybe i am missing something obvious or there is a bug involved.
Can you give me a re-fresher for building locally?
Tomorrow i will create a PR and provide instructions. As for Travis i don't see a straightforward way to fully automate backport releases for now. As the problem is on how to determine when to build it. Therefore i won't investigate this further for now as it only takes a few minutes to build it locally and this isn't something that gets done frequently.
Do we need to change deploy from 0.18 to 0.18_pre on https://travis-ci.org/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-A ... tification?
Doesn't FreeCAD 0.18 AppImage deploy correctly?
blacey wrote:
Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:28 pm
FYI, to change the GitHub deployment destination, set the DEPLOY_RELEASE variable in the Travis repo/build settings to 0.18_pre (it is currently set to 0.17_pre). Happy to set it if desired.
I changed it a few days back and was under impression it deploys correctly. Where in my opinion it would be worth to invest some effort (and you are experienced in this area) is to try to automate the managing of version.h with the help of Travis:

https://docs.travis-ci.com/user/deployment/launchpad/
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 20#p227320