face union

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
User avatar
shoogen
Posts: 2823
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:24 pm

Re: face union

Postby shoogen » Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:30 pm

Would the following do the job?

Code: Select all

git checkout tanderson-merge-faceunioncylindrical
git pull --rebase master
git push
EDIT:
this just does the rebase
you still have to apply it to the master

Code: Select all

checkout master
merge tanderson-merge-faceunioncylindrical
Last edited by shoogen on Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11845
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: face union

Postby yorik » Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:36 pm

shoogen wrote:Would the following do the job?
That seems a clean and clever way indeed... Easier than "git remote update"
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15724
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: face union

Postby wmayer » Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:26 pm

So, then back to my question: does this work?

Code: Select all

git pull
git checkout tanderson-merge-faceunioncylindrical
git rebase master
git checkout master
git merge tanderson-merge-faceunioncylindrical
git push
@tanderson69 if you can confirm this then I would like to do my first rebase :)
User avatar
tanderson69
Posts: 1531
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:07 am

Re: face union

Postby tanderson69 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:49 pm

wmayer wrote:So, then back to my question: does this work?.....
Looks good to me. I am not familiar with shoogens syntax so I can't comment about it. The more atomic this series of operations are the better.
User avatar
tanderson69
Posts: 1531
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:07 am

Re: face union

Postby tanderson69 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:38 pm

shoogen wrote:Would the following do the job?

Code: Select all

git checkout tanderson-merge-faceunioncylindrical
git pull --rebase master
git push
after doing some research.

Code: Select all

git pull --rebase
has the ability to avoid some of the unnecessary merge commits we are getting. Here is what I think is happening.

Developer one creates a local branch makes some commits.
Developer one merges and tries to push up his changes, but Developer two has already pushed some changes and the push fails.
So Developer one does a pull and this creates a merge commit on the local master.
Developer ones push now goes through with a merge commit.

Once the push fails, developer one could do a git pull --rebase instead of the git pull and this would get the local master branch current without a merge commit. I am not against merge commits, I just thing they should mean something and not be a side effect of using git. This is how I see it and anybody reading this
should do some research and be cautious. I did not find any examples of using git pull --rebase "branch". (@shoogen) is this something you have seen or used?

We are way off topic and should have this in a git thread instead of the face union.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15724
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: face union

Postby wmayer » Sat Feb 25, 2012 1:33 pm

We are way off topic and should have this in a git thread instead of the face union.
New thread here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=2286
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11845
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: face union

Postby yorik » Sat Feb 25, 2012 2:13 pm

Aren't we good at hijacking forum posts? ;) It's a registered trademark of FreeCAD forum! We cannot leave a good thread intact!
User avatar
tanderson69
Posts: 1531
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:07 am

Re: face union

Postby tanderson69 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 2:59 pm

yorikvanhavre wrote:Aren't we good at hijacking forum posts? ;) It's a registered trademark of FreeCAD forum! We cannot leave a good thread intact!
I am as or more guilty of it as the next guy. Conversations evolve and don't necessarily have a definite boundary.
carlod
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 2:52 pm

Re: face union

Postby carlod » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:38 am

Hi guys..

I've tryied to apply the refine shape command on a part I have created but it doesn't work.
It remove some faces and collapse some vertices..
It works great in other test cases.

Tested with the first 0.13 unstable on winxp

The part can be taken from the post below.
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1222&p=16311#p16311

A suggestion:
Can this command hide the previous part in the tree like the other command do?
User avatar
tanderson69
Posts: 1531
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:07 am

Re: face union

Postby tanderson69 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:43 pm

carlod wrote:Hi guys..

I've tryied to apply the refine shape command on a part I have created but it doesn't work.
It remove some faces and collapse some vertices..
It works great in other test cases.
The solid has problems before the refine shape command.

Code: Select all

>>> App.ActiveDocument.Fusion.Shape.check()
StandardError: Unorientable shape
No error
Fixing an already corrupt model is outside the scope of this command.