Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 2738
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 1:49 pm

issue #1818: Bool Op representation error
microelly2 wrote:Description
A Pocket on a Box or the bool difference of two part::Box:

two of the orthogonal views in the 3D windows have errors
hidden inner edges are shown!

The case pad - pocket works fine.

Steps To Reproduce
see the example file
go through all ortho views

Code: Select all

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.15.4159 (Git)
Branch: master
Hash: fa3a2a0d3a7a0a619ab6323e236376bb43636e79
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.7.1
quick61 responds:
quick61 wrote:Switch your "View from: X +ve" to "View from: X -ve" and leave "Axis aligned right: Y +ve"
@microelly2 does that help ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 3789
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby microelly2 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:27 am

Kunda1 wrote:
@microelly2 does that help ?
I will test it again.
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 3789
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby microelly2 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:24 pm

I have the error again when I use front or top view (in orthogonal view).
then I switch to perspective view and back to orthoview and no more error.
it's mystic. :roll:

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10091 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 3076b5938f3af5b7a3375c6aa8471bbacb9d6c4a
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 2738
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:31 pm

microelly2 wrote:I have the error again when I use front or top view (in orthogonal view).
then I switch to perspective view and back to orthoview and no more error.
it's mystic. :roll:

OS: Ubuntu 14.04.5 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.10091 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: master
Hash: 3076b5938f3af5b7a3375c6aa8471bbacb9d6c4a
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
@microelly2 do you mind posting a screenshot to issue #1818 ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
tanderson69
Posts: 1480
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:07 am

Re: Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby tanderson69 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:53 pm

set the transparency to 0
User avatar
microelly2
Posts: 3789
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby microelly2 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:02 pm

tanderson69 wrote:set the transparency to 0
the same result :roll:
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 16534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby NormandC » Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:05 am

I'm curious, what graphics card/chipset and driver are you using?

I have the same issue. Mine's an Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti I believe, I'm using the nouveau driver and it will tell me no info on the card brand nor model, only "Gallium 0.4 on NVE6".
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 2738
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby Kunda1 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:46 am

microelly2 wrote:
Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:02 pm
bump
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 2738
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Bug #1818: Bool Op representation error

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:07 pm

@NormandC wrote:
I'm curious, what graphics card/chipset and driver are you using?

I have the same issue. Mine's an Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti I believe, I'm using the nouveau driver and it will tell me no info on the card brand nor model, only "Gallium 0.4 on NVE6".
microelly2 wrote:ping
@microelly2 do you have a moment to answer @NormandC's question?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features