Using the FreeCAD Python modules to create constrained SVG layouts

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
seands

Using the FreeCAD Python modules to create constrained SVG layouts

Postby seands » Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:44 pm

Hi all, this is a long post but I think I need to describe my story to get the right kind of help - please bear with me!

I recently started to use FreeCAD to do some 3D modelling at work, and it's excellent - great job! At the same time, I realised how powerful FreeCAD could be for solving optical layouts based on a series of constraints.

I'm a physicist working with optics, and when I want to draw an SVG diagram of an optical layout, I have to load up Inkscape and move lots of things around. If I want to move a mirror in an existing layout, I also have to move the light beams that I've drawn with respect to that mirror, and if I change an angle I also have to redraw the light that "reflects" off of other mirrors. Here's the sort of thing I draw:

My idea to solve this issue is as follows: I want to be able to programmatically define the relationship between mirrors and other optical components, and the links (light!) between them, and have a program draw the SVG diagram for me. For instance, a mirror at some angle will reflect its ingoing light at twice that angle, so a program can easily calculate this. I want to allow a user to define what optics there are, and how they link together (e.g. "mirror A is separated from mirror B by 50cm, and they are oriented at 45 degrees with respect to one another"), and have the program draw what it looks like in 2D.

However...