GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
wandererfan
Veteran
Posts: 6268
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm
Contact:

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by wandererfan »

Kunda1 wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:31 am This Addon is in need of a maintainer and update to py3/qt5

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-addons/issues/115
Also a rebuild to work with TD instead of Drawing.
User avatar
easyw-fc
Veteran
Posts: 3629
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by easyw-fc »

wandererfan wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2019 12:52 pm
Kunda1 wrote: Mon Oct 28, 2019 11:31 am This Addon is in need of a maintainer and update to py3/qt5

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-addons/issues/115
Also a rebuild to work with TD instead of Drawing.
GDT are also related to STEP AP214 format and can be done in 3D drawings.
May be a rebuild to work with both 3D drawings and TD.

https://www.ida-step.net/components/editors/gdt
3D PMI
http://www.ap242.org/c/document_library ... upId=52520
-
PDM.png
PDM.png (339.97 KiB) Viewed 3308 times
and
-
https://www.cax-if.org/documents/rec_pr ... geo_v1.pdf
-
G&DT-1.png
G&DT-1.png (155.43 KiB) Viewed 3308 times
mario52
Veteran
Posts: 4673
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 2:13 pm

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by mario52 »

hi juanvanyo

thanks for sharing

little problem

During initialization the error "inconsistent use of tabs and spaces in indentation (<string>, line 48)" occurred in C:\Users\xxxxx\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\GDT\InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information

i replace all tabs in spaces

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18615 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: a801ff5a236d9275c2dc184db5a457589b3eabc4
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0

EDITT:29/10/2019 21h34

other error
During initialization the error "invalid syntax (GDT.py, line 279)" occurred in C:\Users\Mario\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\GDT\InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information


i replace all <> in != in all files

mario
Maybe you need a special feature, go into Macros_recipes and Code_snippets, Topological_data_scripting.
My macros on Gist.github here complete macros Wiki and forum.
svbol
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:29 pm

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by svbol »

I install GDT today.
After re-run FreeCAD I see errors...

Error 1:
During initialization the error "inconsistent use of tabs and spaces in indentation (<string>, line 48)" occurred in /home/user/.FreeCAD/Mod/GDT/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information

File InitGui.py in rows 48, 59 and 61 have "space" as first symbol.

Error 2:
During initialization the error "invalid syntax (GDT.py, line 279)" occurred in /home/user/.FreeCAD/Mod/GDT/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information

File GDT.py have "<>" in many rows.

Error 3:
invalid syntax (inventory.py, line 114)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 41, in Initialize

"<>" again...

Error 4:
<Exception> type must be str or unicode, not bytes
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/user/.FreeCAD/Mod/GDT/GDT.py", line 1470, in createObject
makeAnnotationPlane(self.textName, self.ContainerOfData.OffsetValue)
File "/home/user/.FreeCAD/Mod/GDT/GDT.py", line 792, in makeAnnotationPlane
obj.Label = Name
TypeError: {'sfile': '', 'swhat': 'type must be str or unicode, not bytes', 'sErrMsg': 'type must be str or unicode, not bytes', 'sfunction': '', 'sclassname': 'N4Base9TypeErrorE', 'breported': True, 'btranslatable': False, 'iline': 0}


I change: obj.Label = Name
to

Code: Select all

792    obj.Label = u'Name'
940    obj.Label = u'Name'
and

Code: Select all

1470            makeAnnotationPlane(u'self.textName', self.ContainerOfData.OffsetValue)
GDT run, but have next errors...
vocx
Veteran
Posts: 5197
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by vocx »

svbol wrote: Sun Dec 29, 2019 8:08 pm ...
GDT run, but have next errors...
Please note that GDT hasn't been updated in a long time.

Code: Select all

Latest commit b49c167 on May 25, 2017 
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD-addo ... -455774697
luzpaz wrote: GD&T has not been developed for some time. Perhaps you can open some issues on their repo? It would be really nice to have this WB available for 0.18 as well.
https://github.com/juanvanyo/FreeCAD-GDT/issues
Since this is an external workbench, the author himself should take care of it and maintain it. Otherwise, another developer should fork the repository and maintain it.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
User avatar
looo
Veteran
Posts: 3941
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by looo »

I tried to update this workench, but there are still some issues. Also I didn't understand how this workbench works. Maybe someone else can have a look:
https://github.com/looooo/freecad.gdt
carlopav
Veteran
Posts: 2062
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by carlopav »

Hmmm interesting, maybe there is something to add to Draft annotation system...
It seems to have also much code in common with draft wb...
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
ajoeiam
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 9:36 pm

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by ajoeiam »

Greetings

OS: Debian GNU/Linux bullseye/sid (LXQt/lightdm-xsession)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20209 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 5fc4a26a00390e91cbf91848b766b68ad87e5917
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0

Running a relatively current version and really really have a need to G D & T.
Sadly there seems to be only this rather outdated workbench - - - so - - - - is there anything a seriously non-programmer can do to help?

Am running a fairly parallel set of systems and also have another system that is running Debian stable.
That means that I can install possibly buggy software and if it causes serious issues - - - - well I'll be grumpy but I'm not taking out my main use system.

Please advise!
vocx
Veteran
Posts: 5197
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by vocx »

ajoeiam wrote: Wed Apr 01, 2020 11:48 pm ...is there anything a seriously non-programmer can do to help?
If you can't program then there is nothing to do.

Perhaps the only thing you can do is describe exactly what sorts of features you would like to see. This GDT workbench is based on the Draft Workbench, and it basically places text in the 3D view.

But you could also add tolerance information in the technical drawings created with the TechDraw Workbench.

Again, what sets of features would you want? According to which standard? Do have access to such standard? Etc.
Always add the important information to your posts if you need help. Also see Tutorials and Video tutorials.
To support the documentation effort, and code development, your donation is appreciated: liberapay.com/FreeCAD.
carlopav
Veteran
Posts: 2062
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: GD&T Workbench for FreeCAD

Post by carlopav »

I can add to what vocx wrote that would be nice to understand if we can derive some of the annotation tools of Draft workbench to fit a GD&T workflow... At the end it seems to me that what GDeT does is just to add dimensions and labels, isn't it?
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
Post Reply