Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
vejmarie
Posts: 552
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:52 pm
Location: Somewhere between France, USA and Taiwan
Contact:

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby vejmarie » Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:24 pm

Unfortunatly on that one I can't do a lot of thing currently. As Placement into OCAF are referred to a Shape. As a Part Container is an Assembly/Compound STEP element it can be placed only if there is a root reference ( Aka a root node which is containing the global assembly even if I call the right XCAFLocation call). So if you change the placement of a root node which is a Free Shape then that Free Shape can't contain placement information, only absolute coordinate of a shape which doesn't exist or can't be allocated to Assembly/Compound STEP element.

So the workaround is to add a root node on top of your assembly name it of your project name as an example and export your step from it, and it will work like a charm. Exactly like you mentionned it and how it was pre-implemented.

I tried some workaround by using STEP reference, but currently it doesn't work.

I will keep an eye on it, but put it as a low priority on my TODO, as I was trying to get StepUp working fine first. I just have a low priority process in my brain which try to understand how that stuff could work. I spent a lot of time reading OCAF stuff into OpenCascade source code, and trust me this is just a headache ;)
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15122
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby wmayer » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:02 am

OK.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 6209
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby Kunda1 » Sat Aug 05, 2017 1:06 pm

wmayer wrote:
Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:42 pm
Just found another issue. When you create a Part container, set its placement and add some shapes then on export the placement is ignored. After moving the Part container into a second Part container and selecting the latter for export the placement is considered.

So you always need two Part containers which seems a bit odd behaviour to me.

Any opinions?
Linking issue #3143 since it seems related
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2714
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby easyw-fc » Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:01 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Sat Aug 05, 2017 1:06 pm
Linking issue #3143 since it seems related
this bug should be closed... it is related to exporting single part placement (solved) and not to App::Part absolute placement
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 6209
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:21 pm

Linking issue #3143: Step export doesn't honor placement to this thread
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 6209
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby Kunda1 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 5:56 pm

easyw-fc wrote:
Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:01 pm
Kunda1 wrote:
Sat Aug 05, 2017 1:06 pm
Linking issue #3143 since it seems related
this bug should be closed... it is related to exporting single part placement (solved) and not to App::Part absolute placement
Can you notate the issue #3143 with an explanation why the bug should be closed? Thanks!
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2714
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby easyw-fc » Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:08 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Wed Aug 30, 2017 5:56 pm
easyw-fc wrote:
Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:01 pm
Kunda1 wrote:
Sat Aug 05, 2017 1:06 pm
Linking issue #3143 since it seems related
this bug should be closed... it is related to exporting single part placement (solved) and not to App::Part absolute placement
Can you notate the issue #3143 with an explanation why the bug should be closed? Thanks!
the placemento fo the single parts is now honored.
Only top level in hierarchy App::Part container, if exported, will not conserve its placement. But this will not affect the file of the example in the issue reported, which is composed of single parts objects.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15122
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby wmayer » Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:54 pm

I just discovered another major regression. When you create a sketch you can export it e.g. into STEP format but the reader now ignores it and always creates an empty document. In order to load the file you have to load it using the simplified reader of the Part workbench.

issue #0003174
User avatar
easyw-fc
Posts: 2714
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 9:34 am

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby easyw-fc » Thu Aug 31, 2017 4:31 pm

wmayer wrote:
Thu Aug 31, 2017 1:54 pm
In order to load the file you have to load it using the simplified reader of the Part workbench.
issue #0003174
there is an option to check in the preferences hSTEP
Image
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 14#p188653
It is still a workaround because in case of compounds, the objects will be loaded as one single shape and colors will be lost...
but solids will be loaded fine
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 6209
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Part module preference option not activated at startup ?

Postby Kunda1 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:04 pm

Bump
(maybe the cause of issue #3143?)
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features