Release of v0.17

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16299
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby wmayer » Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:52 pm

yorik wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:52 pm
NormandC wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:46 pm
It would be nice if v0.17 was released the same day :D
People keep adding bugfixes.. :D
Is there still something to do? IMO, we should finally make the release in this week.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 7990
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby Kunda1 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 7:43 pm

wmayer wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:52 pm
yorik wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:52 pm
NormandC wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:46 pm
It would be nice if v0.17 was released the same day :D
People keep adding bugfixes.. :D
Is there still something to do? IMO, we should finally make the release in this week.
@wmayer recent crash bug issue #3416
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
ulrich1a
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby ulrich1a » Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:05 pm

wmayer wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:50 pm
ulrich1a wrote: ↑
Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:18 pm
There is a problem in the Tools/Save picture... function in regard to datum planes and datum lines. Both are always shown in front of the model in the produced picture, regardless of the position in the 3D-view.
The problem was reported here: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 93#p225362

Ulrich

Works for me without problems. So, I assume it's because of the semi-transparency which your driver doesn't support properly.
The problem is not in the 3D-View of FreeCAD but in the produced picture needed for documentation, which gives the wrong view. So we will get confusing images in the forum, that were taken with the internal FreeCAD function. Did you check a picture taken with the function: Tools/Save picture...?

I got the problem in a Windows installation with an NVidia driver and a Debian installation with a Radeon graphics card.

Ulrich
peterl94
Posts: 1001
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:31 pm
Location: United States

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby peterl94 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:43 pm

sgrogan wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:46 am
I believe only OCCT,nglib, and VTK debug libs need to be updated. I can work on VTK if you want to do nglib?
Do we need OCCT compiled with VTK? If so, I would need the debug VTK libs first. Otherwise, I can go ahead and build nglib.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5969
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby sgrogan » Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:56 pm

peterl94 wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:43 pm
Do we need OCCT compiled with VTK? If so, I would need the debug VTK libs first. Otherwise, I can go ahead and build nglib.
No, this causes unnecessary bloat that FreeCAD does not use.
Actually all we need for the 0.17 release, are the release versions of OCCT 7.2 and nglib for x64/x32, The debug libs can catch up after the release.
I'm not convinced that a debug Libpack is even necessary for x32? My hope is after 0.17 to provide a complete 11.x-vc12 Libpack with debug libs then switch to 12.x-vc14 based on conda.
Thanks in advance.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5969
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby sgrogan » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:40 pm

bernd wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:30 pm
@sgrogan
what version of ccx and gmsh will be included in win release?
ccx is 2.12, I'll see if I can update gmsh to 3.0.6.
bernd wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:30 pm
IfcOpenShell in win builds is quite outdated. They had a release some weeks ago. version 0.5 we may include this binary?
Hmm, let's see if I remember how to build this ;)
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby NormandC » Wed Apr 04, 2018 12:48 am

ulrich1a wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:05 pm
The problem is not in the 3D-View of FreeCAD but in the produced picture needed for documentation, which gives the wrong view. So we will get confusing images in the forum, that were taken with the internal FreeCAD function. Did you check a picture taken with the function: Tools/Save picture...?

I got the problem in a Windows installation with an NVidia driver and a Debian installation with a Radeon graphics card.

Ulrich
The images I created for the PartDesign command pages were made with FreeCAD's save picture utility. Check the subtractive primitive pages. My graphics card is an NVidia and I'm using the nouveau driver.

EDIT: the issue is with leaving the background to "current". There is no issue if the background is set to transparent.
jmaustpc
Posts: 9999
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby jmaustpc » Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:26 am

wmayer wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:52 pm
yorik wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:52 pm
NormandC wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 2:46 pm
It would be nice if v0.17 was released the same day :D
People keep adding bugfixes.. :D
Is there still something to do? IMO, we should finally make the release in this week.
Hi Werner, I notice a post about a crash bug here
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=27764

Don't know if you think it needs to be fixed before release or not.

It happens when a 0 is entered.......

Jim
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16299
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby wmayer » Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:41 am

ulrich1a wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:05 pm
The problem is not in the 3D-View of FreeCAD but in the produced picture needed for documentation, which gives the wrong view. So we will get confusing images in the forum, that were taken with the internal FreeCAD function. Did you check a picture taken with the function: Tools/Save picture...?
Yes, of course. I used the Tools/Save picture function.
I got the problem in a Windows installation with an NVidia driver and a Debian installation with a Radeon graphics card.
I have also have an NVidia card namely: GeForce GTX 680 MX
ulrich1a
Posts: 1958
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 12:08 pm

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby ulrich1a » Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:57 am

wmayer wrote:
Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:41 am
Yes, of course. I used the Tools/Save picture function.
NormandC confirmed the problem here: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 34#p225462
I can report, that it does only occur with the setting of the current background. It does not occur with white or transparent background.
Tested with a NVidia card Quadro K1200. Just to add this information, in case its a part of the problem. Driver 369.39

Ulrich

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13433 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: b45bc4889d390eb50022a49a58c6af80f4a328f5
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)