Release of v0.17

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
josemaria
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:32 am
Location: España

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby josemaria » Sun May 13, 2018 5:44 pm

NormandC wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:30 pm

There are a few reasons to stop using templates for workbench tools, mainly they are translation issues:
  • It makes translation of a workbench page extremely cumbersome. When in translation mode, you do not have direct access to the templates being used inside the original English page. You need to add a language suffix to the template link, go back to the translated page, click on the red link; but then, the new translated template page is not linked to the original English one. You need to open the English workbench page again, edit it, click to edit the desired template, copy-paste its content into the translate template being worked on. While it's possible to make template pages translatable, it is as much cumbersome to manage.
  • It is not user-friendly to new contributors/translators. It adds a level of complexity that raises the barrier to contribution.
  • The reported completion of a translated page is skewed, because it does not take template content into account. Thus you can have a workbench translation that reports being 100% completed, when actually it is only 10% completed.
Sorry for referring to this here, but it the only post I have found where it more or less explains the problem I am facing. I am trying to translate to Spanish the sketcher tools template. Is there any indication somewhere about how should I do it? is it what you describe as "cumbersome" what I should do?
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 16533
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby NormandC » Sun May 13, 2018 7:16 pm

When translating the Sketcher workbench page to Spanish, you'll encounter this field:

Code: Select all

{{Sketcher Tools/es}}
This calls the template page named "Sketcher Tools/es".

Copy it, and in your Internet browser url field, paste it at the end of https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Template:

In other words, the full address for this template will be https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Templat ... r_Tools/es

Then you can edit this page.

josemaria wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 5:44 pm
Is there any indication somewhere about how should I do it?
Maybe, but it was faster to write how than try to find the stupid link.

I am really, really fed up with these tools templates. :evil:

EDIT: fixed up invalid links.
Last edited by NormandC on Tue May 22, 2018 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
josemaria
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:32 am
Location: España

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby josemaria » Sat May 19, 2018 9:05 am

NormandC wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 7:16 pm

In other words, the full address for this template will be https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Sketcher_Tools/es
Thank you. I managed to do it. Very cumbersome this template thing. It is day and night compared with translating messages.

https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Sketcher_Workbench/es

To edit, I had to use this url:
https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Template:Sketcher_Tools

without "Template" in it it would create another page in parallel.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 16533
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby NormandC » Tue May 22, 2018 1:51 am

josemaria wrote:
Sat May 19, 2018 9:05 am
without "Template" in it it would create another page in parallel.
Sorry for the inconvenience. I don't know how I messed up the link. Yes, all template pages start with the Template: namespace.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 2738
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:22 pm

Will 0.17 have any minor update releases before 0.18 is released? I ask because as a bug triage'er it would limit the redundancies of that work (bigly!) but I don't want to be self-centered and just think of the effort saved withourt all the effort it takes to make a release. Thanks in advance!
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
abdullah
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 3:16 pm

Re: Release of v0.17

Postby abdullah » Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:46 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:22 pm
Will 0.17 have any minor update releases before 0.18 is released? I ask because as a bug triage'er it would limit the redundancies of that work (bigly!) but I don't want to be self-centered and just think of the effort saved withourt all the effort it takes to make a release. Thanks in advance!
In general I am rather not for minor update releases unless there are major bugs involved, or big compatibility issues between versions (like the PR I refer to below). I think the time is better invested in releasing a full version whenever is time (and having "whenever is time" restricted to a reasonable time, like at least once per year).

Now talking about the present case and this PR. For a major release, my wish is to have this in:
https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/pull/1421

I think it would make sense to have it merged at least a couple of months before any major release, because I would like to have any possible bug fixed before it is released.

If this is merged, it would mean that a sketch of a project of the development version v0.18, would be empty of external geometry when opened using v0.17. I think it would then make sense to make a "minor" v0.17.1 to add support for this, so that there is a minimum of interoperability between v0.17 and v0.18.

So really answering your question. I think there should be a minor update to v0.17.1 this time. I am not sure which improvements you would like to have merged into such a minor version... what do you have in mind?